Broccoli Risotto with Cream and Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Oh wow this was the best thing I have ever eaten! Usually I don't like risotto because it has a ton of mushrooms in it, but this was delicious! I had leftover broccoli and roasted red peppers that I needed to use so I threw them in this and it was so good I could have eaten the whole pan by myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This was fantastic! I made two alterations- substituted chopped frozen spinach for the broccoli (we were out) and used 1/4 cup half and half instead of cream. Also, the finished risotto only "took" 4 cups of broth, so I'd recommend adding just a 1/2 cup at a time towards the end of cooking time. Thanks for the recipe, this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Wonderful flavor and very creamy! I also steamed the broccoli separately and mixed in toward the end. I served this with fish and it was amazing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Cole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
i skipped the lemon and used 1% milk instead of cream and it was DELICIOUS. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
After ordering a broccoli risotto recipe at Perkins recently, and thinking it was pretty awesome for chain restaurant fare, I was happy to find this one at the allrecipes website. It is very good, and did not require any salt or pepper. I realized too late that I forgot the heavy cream on my trip to the store, but found a substitution on-line: 3/4 cup milk, 1/3 cup butter, and 1 tablespoon flour (if using 1% or skim milk). It worked perfectly. I like chopping the broccoli very fine, so each bite suggests broccoli rather than overwhelming the dish with large chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This is a recipe I've cooked several times and just love the flavors in this risotto. I used a Romano/Parmesan/Asiago cheese blend and frozen baby broccoli florets because I did not want big chunks/large stalks in the risotto. Like other cooks, I used less cream to cut down on the fat as well as regular whipping cream rather than the heavy version. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I made this risotto with the stock from a whole chicken cooked yesterday. Did not have white wine so used cooking sherry. And, once the sherry was absorbed, added the rest of the chicken stock and pressure cooked it for 6 minutes. Once done, put the pressure cooker on "brown" and added the broccoli and cheese. Did not need the cream because it was so creamy already! Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I always try a recipe as is AND THIS WAS DELICIOUS!! Even though I didn't have cream (used whole milk) or chives. My 8 and 10 year olds enjoyed it even though they saw me chopping the onion...husband gobbled it up as well. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This risotto is absolutely delicious! The addition of heavy cream in place of the usual butter works very well. I followed the recipe exactly, other than adding more cheese at the end. A wonderful dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is a great recipe and since I am vegeterian I had to make some subsitutions. I substituted the chicken broth with vegetable broth, I used vegan butter, I used silk creamer instead of heavy cream and I used veggie parmesan cheese to make this a great vegetarian/vegan dish. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rene Paulin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States