Broccoli Risotto with Cream and Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This was a really tasty risotto. I skipped the cream to limit the amount of fat but it was still very creamy and delicious. This could be modified to add whatever veggies are on hand - mushroom, asparagus, etc. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Very good basic recipe, although the measurements require a bit of tweaking! I make risotto quite often, so I have gotten pretty good at finding that perfect creamy consistency, and with the few changes I made, I got it! I did not use any butter, but instead I used all olive oil (about 3 T was enough), and then I added about 3/4 C onion (1 small), 3 chopped cloves of garlic, and sauteed over medium heat for about 5 minutes before adding the wine. I did add 1/2 C wine, and cooked for a few minutes over medium until most had evaporated, then started adding my chicken broth (3 cans was the perfect amount, by the way) about 1/2 C at a time until it began to get creamy, but still had a slight bite to it. (This took about 20 minutes or so, but judge by texture more than time.) Then I added about 1/2 C cream (I think a cup is way too much for only 1 1/2 C rice), 1/2 C fresh grated parm (it needed more then just 2 T), salt and pepper, the 2 T lemon juice, and the steamed broccoli (4 minutes in the microwave is perfect). Add a bit of extra cream if it seems dry at this point. All in all, great recipe; the lemon and broccoli with the creaminess of the rice was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
The lemon juice made this risotto taste very different from the mushroom risotto I usually make. It was delicious, and something new and different to make. I added two additional tablespoons of lemon juice, and it took 6 (14-ish oz) cans of chicken broth, which is far more than the listed 5 cups, but it was still worth making. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I made this exactly by the recipe except that I had no cheese and I through in a little leftover shredded chicken. It didn't taste as good as I had expected, (delicious and creamy, but rather bland.) but I suspect the cheese would have made a big difference. Will definitely try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towanda, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ekaterinburg, Sverdlovsk Oblast, Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This was fantastic! I made two alterations- substituted chopped frozen spinach for the broccoli (we were out) and used 1/4 cup half and half instead of cream. Also, the finished risotto only "took" 4 cups of broth, so I'd recommend adding just a 1/2 cup at a time towards the end of cooking time. Thanks for the recipe, this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Wonderful flavor and very creamy! I also steamed the broccoli separately and mixed in toward the end. I served this with fish and it was amazing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Cole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
i skipped the lemon and used 1% milk instead of cream and it was DELICIOUS. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This was pretty good, and not too difficult (was my first time making risotto so I was a little scared!) Since I don't have experience making risotto, I'm not sure if I ended up with the 'right' consistency, but I stopped adding broth after four cups, and it was even a teeny bit mushy. But perfectly edible and tasty. I used a little more oil and a lot less butter, forgot to put the chives in, more asiago and no parmesan - though if I make again, I think I would use just parm 'cause I always have it on hand, and asiago is more expensive than it's worth. I also added a tbsp more lemon juice plus another quick drizzle at the end, and it still didn't taste very lemony, but that's alright. Overall, quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
After ordering a broccoli risotto recipe at Perkins recently, and thinking it was pretty awesome for chain restaurant fare, I was happy to find this one at the allrecipes website. It is very good, and did not require any salt or pepper. I realized too late that I forgot the heavy cream on my trip to the store, but found a substitution on-line: 3/4 cup milk, 1/3 cup butter, and 1 tablespoon flour (if using 1% or skim milk). It worked perfectly. I like chopping the broccoli very fine, so each bite suggests broccoli rather than overwhelming the dish with large chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This is a recipe I've cooked several times and just love the flavors in this risotto. I used a Romano/Parmesan/Asiago cheese blend and frozen baby broccoli florets because I did not want big chunks/large stalks in the risotto. Like other cooks, I used less cream to cut down on the fat as well as regular whipping cream rather than the heavy version. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States