Broccoli Risotto with Cream and Lemon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Very delicious - I especially loved the lemon flavour. When I cooked the broccoli, I divided the stems from the florets. I cooked the florets for a short time to keep them nice and green and then removed them from the water and added the stems. I cooked the stems for quite a long time until they were fairly soft and put the water and the stems in the blender, leaving me with nice green hot water, which I then added some veggie stock to to get the correct amount of liquid, heated it up again and used this as the liquid for the risotto. I sounds like a lot more work but it too much more and you get great flavour from the all the delicious green stuff that comes out in the water when you boil broccoli!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Excellent recipe. I needed to use up some broccoli and this came out great. Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robinscott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I didn't change this recipe at all- though it is a good base Risotto recipes. My risotto was very creamy even without the milk. The milk doesn't need to be in here but I used it and it seemed like a bit much at first but cooked down wonderfully. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This was wonderful. I followed the recipe with the following exceptions. I used only olive oil, omitted the cream & cheese and added diced cooked chicken. It is time consuming but worth it. The lemon makes it light and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
It ended up being really good, but the rice wasn't cooked properly. It was my first time making risotto after trying it at loads of restaurants so I was wondering, do you boil the rice beforehand? I was a little lost, since the recipe just said to pour the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Turned out great. I used aspargus instead of broccoli because that is what I had on hand and I like better. Imagine broccoli would taste just as good as it did with aspargus. This is also my go to recipe now for basic risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is a great recipe and since I am vegeterian I had to make some subsitutions. I substituted the chicken broth with vegetable broth, I used vegan butter, I used silk creamer instead of heavy cream and I used veggie parmesan cheese to make this a great vegetarian/vegan dish. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rene Paulin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This risotto is absolutely delicious! The addition of heavy cream in place of the usual butter works very well. I followed the recipe exactly, other than adding more cheese at the end. A wonderful dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I always try a recipe as is AND THIS WAS DELICIOUS!! Even though I didn't have cream (used whole milk) or chives. My 8 and 10 year olds enjoyed it even though they saw me chopping the onion...husband gobbled it up as well. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Oh wow this was the best thing I have ever eaten! Usually I don't like risotto because it has a ton of mushrooms in it, but this was delicious! I had leftover broccoli and roasted red peppers that I needed to use so I threw them in this and it was so good I could have eaten the whole pan by myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Butternut Squash Risotto

Make a creamy risotto with naturally sweet butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States