Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This recipe was great but what I did different was only adding cream of mushroom and not the cream of chicken since I read the reviews. I didn't want it to be too soupy . Next time I will not use minute rice. I will be using regular rice. Overall this dish was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veronicamark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Super yummy cheesy comfort food! This casserole is our go-to easy supper for us to make on a day when we're absolutely exhausted from work or craving something cheesy. I do make a few tweaks though as my fiancé and I normally try to eat whole and fresh unprocessed foods. We do cheat a bit with this casserole thought with the canned soups! 1). I dice two large chicken breasts or 3 small breasts (depending on what we get from the butcher shop that day) into small pieces and pan fry them in a bit of olive oil, a few tbsp. of water, and S/P until they are cooked through but not dried out. 2). I steam 4 cups of fresh broccoli cut in small florets. 3). I dice a small sweet onion and saute in a bit of olive oil for a few minutes. 4). I use two cups of brown rice cooked in chicken stock to add additional flavor 5). Here is the unhealthy part… I use 1 can of fat free cream of something Campbell's Soup (we prefer cream of broccoli) and 1 can of Campbell's cheddar cheese soup mixed with 1 cup skim milk and a bit of sriracha sauce. I mix everything together with a few handfuls of shredded cheese (usually whatever we have lying around the fridge). I bake for about 35 mins and then sprinkle a 1/4 cup seasoned bread crumbs mixed with a bit of melted butter on top and bake for an additional 10-15 minutes. Not the healthiest meal but it freezes well and it's nice to splurge every once in a while with some cheesy comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Next time I will use maybe half the processed cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I made it exactly as recipe stated. I found I had to double the cooking time to make it look right. It was way too rich for my taste. If I make it again I will probably use 1/2 velveeta and 1/2 shredded cheese and skip the canned chicken in favor of chunks of real chicken breast. I would also add more chicken since it seemed like each person got one bite of chicken per bowl. My bf liked the onion flavor although I thought it was slightly overpowering. I would probably saute the onions first next time. It makes a ton so there is a lot left over. I took it for lunch today but am still finding that it is too strong to eat much of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Easy,quick,loved the video it helped me a lot. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This is a great recipe. I did use chicken tenders, pan fried in alittle oil, then chopped into small pieces. Making again tonight because it was requested!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
The posted version is quick but seems bland. I get some ingredients started in a skillet and use the following modifications: 1. Cook rice in chicken broth or boullion 2. Finely chop an onion, cook in skillet until translucent 3. Put the cubed chicken with the onion and season to taste (parika, red pepper, cayenne) 4. Toss the broccoli into the skillet with cooked chicken and cover a few minutes until tender. 5. Use 1/2 lb processed cheese and at least 1/2 lb of real sharp cheddar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athena Terry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This is an AWESOME recipe ~ Loved it so much! It was so easy to make and tasted so good! I made a few changes to the recipe, I used two baked chicken breast instead of canned chicken, fresh broccoli instead of frozen ones, and regular rice cooker rice instead of instant rice. It was really easy to make and it is a must-make again casserole! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fannie L.O.V.E

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Sunday brunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I loved it! Even though I did make a couple of quick changes based on the stuff that was available to me.( I used 4 cans of the soup instead of six and also used regular rice.) I made 24 servings (2) -9-13 pans for 19 people and it was totally devoured. YEA! I also put some crushed nacho corn chips on the top. It was awesome! I Highly Recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States