Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This was really good. Next time I will use one box chopped broccoli and one box/bag broccoli florets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danart920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
My while family loved this recipe. I did make a couple little changes: I used fresh broccoli, no cream of chicken soup, 1 c. milk, used real cheese (i can't stand processed stuff), and used previously cooked rice. I always make a big batch of rice and then freeze portions to make different dishes, it works out great. This will always be in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This was good but a little too soupy. I should have made more rice and added more broccoli to tame down the soupy flavor a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This is wonderful...BUT, I can never remember each time I've made it whether I've used 3 cups COOKED instant rice or 3 cups instant rice (which would be measured into an equal amount of water, thus producing 6 cups COOKED rice, which is an awful lot of rice). I'm getting more forgetful lol and I get rave reviews for this dish, but I hate that I don't write down how I do the rice! From other recipes, it looks like, given equal portions of other ingredients, they would use 3 cups of COOKED rice. The only other thing I do differently is I cook the broccoli in the microwave with no added liquid (frozen broc. makes its own liquid) and I reduce the amount of liquid added to the soup sauce by a little; then I mix everything in my largest possible sauce pan, stirring everything to make sure the velveeta melts. I add garlic powder and onion powder and let that stand awhile. Then I place that in my large metal lasagne pan slightly greased and top with grated sharp cheddar cheese and bake uncovered for 45 minutes. My husband LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Great! I made some modifications though. I made this a one dish meal and added 2 chicken breasts which I baked first and seasoned with pepper and garlic powder, then diced. I halved the recipe, used fresh broccoli, one can cream of chicken, no processed cheese and subbed real shredded cheddar, still used 1 onion, no celery. I boiled the broccoli until it was tender and to make everything easier, just tossed that, the sautéed onion, rice, soup, water, cheese, salt and pepper and chicken in a bowl and mixed well. Then I melted some butter and mixed in Panko breadcrumbs to make a crunchy topping and sprinkled it over the top once it was in the casserole dish. This was spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
For those of you considering making this, please take just a moment to watch the embedded video...it will clear up any confusion as to cooked or uncooked rice, etc. As a long-time Allrecipes user, I have found it quite beneficial to watch videos offered. I believe that had those reviewers done their due diligence prior to making this casserole, their rating would have been higher and their dinners better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenFWB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Super cheesy and delicious! My whole family is sick and we felt very comforted by this wholesomely good recipe. I used real uncooked rice (not instant). I cooked it in my rice steamer first. I also used a regular 16 oz block of cheese (cubed it myself). I only used 16oz of frozen broccoli. I did use a whole stalk of celery and that was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This is delicious! The only changes I made were that I cooked the onions and celery first and I used jasmine rice because I like it better than instant rice. I cooked it first, so i only baked it for about 30 minutes. My family loves this! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Made with leftover steamed broccoli and only used cream of mushroom (all i had on hand). Was fantastic! Made half the recipe and it was a ton of food. Tho i wont mind the leftovers! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oakland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Use 2 cups real cooked rice no water and mix all together and bake in pam sprayed pam covered with foil 25 min and take foil off bake 5 more - perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States