Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Made for Thanksgiving dinner, very easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this recipe for Christmas dinner, and my family loved it. I did make a few adjustments to the recipe after reading several other reviews: I used 3 cloves of garlic with an onion (omitted celery) and sautéd the frozen broccoli with the garlic/onions; I used 1 can of cream of broccoli and 1/2 can of cream of mushroom; I used 1 1/2 cups milk instead of water; and I only used half a block of Velveeta cheese and supplemented the remaining cheese with 1/2 cup Gruyere and 1/4 cup Parmesan. I began by sautéing the garlic/onion in some olive oil for about 5 min and then adding the frozen broccoli. I added about 1/4 cup of chicken stock to the pan and put a lid on for about 10 min to warm the broccoli through. In a separate pan I added the canned soups and milk, and once dissolved, I added the Velveeta. Once all of that was combined, I added it to the broccoli/garlic/onion mixture and added my three cups rice (I used brown rice that I cooked with some chicken stock and butter). I mixed in the Gruyere and Parmesan at the end and then baked everything at 350 for 45 minutes. The casserole came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuckyMay
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
It's good but I had way too much soup left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SF2009

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Here's my take on this recipe. Yes it is kind of bland but it is creamy, cheesy goodness! I have been making this recipe for years and I gotta say I don't understand the necessity of all the steps.I make this recipe with 2 cans cream of chicken, omit the mushroom. I omit celery and I do saute the onions. Now here is where I deviate from the recipe.After sauteing the onions, I add everything together in a big bowl and mix(I don't even cook the rice)I then pour the mixture into greased 9 x 13 pan and cook for 15 minutes. I stir the casserole and then bake another 15-25 minutes. Comes out perfect each time, lots easier and I have had people complain I never make enough! P.S. I do thaw the broccoli before adding to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Woodstock42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greeley, Colorado, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This was really good. Next time I will use one box chopped broccoli and one box/bag broccoli florets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danart920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
My while family loved this recipe. I did make a couple little changes: I used fresh broccoli, no cream of chicken soup, 1 c. milk, used real cheese (i can't stand processed stuff), and used previously cooked rice. I always make a big batch of rice and then freeze portions to make different dishes, it works out great. This will always be in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This was good but a little too soupy. I should have made more rice and added more broccoli to tame down the soupy flavor a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This is wonderful...BUT, I can never remember each time I've made it whether I've used 3 cups COOKED instant rice or 3 cups instant rice (which would be measured into an equal amount of water, thus producing 6 cups COOKED rice, which is an awful lot of rice). I'm getting more forgetful lol and I get rave reviews for this dish, but I hate that I don't write down how I do the rice! From other recipes, it looks like, given equal portions of other ingredients, they would use 3 cups of COOKED rice. The only other thing I do differently is I cook the broccoli in the microwave with no added liquid (frozen broc. makes its own liquid) and I reduce the amount of liquid added to the soup sauce by a little; then I mix everything in my largest possible sauce pan, stirring everything to make sure the velveeta melts. I add garlic powder and onion powder and let that stand awhile. Then I place that in my large metal lasagne pan slightly greased and top with grated sharp cheddar cheese and bake uncovered for 45 minutes. My husband LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Great! I made some modifications though. I made this a one dish meal and added 2 chicken breasts which I baked first and seasoned with pepper and garlic powder, then diced. I halved the recipe, used fresh broccoli, one can cream of chicken, no processed cheese and subbed real shredded cheddar, still used 1 onion, no celery. I boiled the broccoli until it was tender and to make everything easier, just tossed that, the sautéed onion, rice, soup, water, cheese, salt and pepper and chicken in a bowl and mixed well. Then I melted some butter and mixed in Panko breadcrumbs to make a crunchy topping and sprinkled it over the top once it was in the casserole dish. This was spectacular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
For those of you considering making this, please take just a moment to watch the embedded video...it will clear up any confusion as to cooked or uncooked rice, etc. As a long-time Allrecipes user, I have found it quite beneficial to watch videos offered. I believe that had those reviewers done their due diligence prior to making this casserole, their rating would have been higher and their dinners better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenFWB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 506) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States