Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I made this last night with a couple of changes. First, I did what another reviewer had said- I cut the cheese into blocks and melted it with the cans of soup in a baking dish. I also used sharp cheddar and pepper jack cheese. I added a can of cheddar cheese soup to the cream of chicken and cream of mushroom mixture. I sautéed the onions, added the broccoli for a few minutes. I didn't have instant rice, so I boiled the rice I had for about 3 minutes in salt water. After the cheese and soup was melted, I added everything else and baked at 350 for about 30 minutes. I got great feedback! Thanks for this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This recipe was great but I did add a some milk and cooked chicken. I also used bouilon cubes to flavor the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This was absolutely AMAZING! Seriously, restaurant-style good. I did make a few small changes, however. One--I do not like mushrooms, so I used cream of broccoli soup instead. I was worried that doing that may have made it too broccoli-ish, but it really didn't at all. Also, I did not use that much cheese because that's just so unhealthy, haha. I used about half that amount and that was perfect. Truly, the whole thing came out beautifully. Definitely became a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
i added chili powder and paprika (just a sprinkle) as well as crushed garlic and a bit of olive oil to my onion & celery mixture. it gave it the extra kick it needed so it wasnt bland at all (as others have noted). Aside from being an extremely high calorie meal/side dish, this recipe is delicious, easy and not too time consuming. It took me about 30 minutes to prep everything and then another 35-45 in the oven. and you spend that 35-45 washing the dishes you used to prep so before you know it your food is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shabazazar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Pretty good. I made it with sharp cheddar, rather than Velveeta to create a richer taste. I would have used celery, but ours had gone bad. Husband loved it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
It was fabulous! I can´t say that I followed the directions to the letter but the changes I made were because I didn´t have all of the ingredients or I wanted to make things easier. I didn´t use celery. I steamed fresh broccoli. I only used 1 cup of uncooked rice therefore the liquid is necessary but I used milk instead of water. Shredded cheese on top and not melted with soups (didn´t heat soups). Seasoned salt, black pepper, paprika, and the onions cooked in butter is vital. Baked covered for a while and then I uncovered, added cheese, and baked for about 15 additional minutes. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Good "base" recipe I did make a few of my own additions that made this amazing!! I cut the recipe in half and had a good sized casserole. I added a minced garlic clove and 2-3 diced jalapeno slices to the celery and onion. Then a little bit of the jarred jalapeno juice to the cheese and soup mixture. Used 1/2 frozen and half fresh broccoli. I would have used all fresh but did not have enough. I also used half of the cheese it recommended. Casserole was very very good!! Will definitely make again, especially for gatherings b/c it's so easy to throw together and refrigerate until ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
easy to make, easy to please with this classic casserole dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This recipe was absolutely delicious, everyone at the party loved it, wanted the recipe. I used chicken broth instead of water, and used the cream of chicken soup with herbs and cream of mushroom soup with roasted garlic (from Campbell's). Put ALOT of pepper, not to where it made it spicy, but just delicious. I didn't cook the broccoli beforehand, I just added the frozen broccoli when I mixed everything all up at the end, just before putting it all in the oven to bake. That way, it doesn't get so mushy and overcooked. Everything else I did just like the recipe says, and it's superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 525) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States