Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
The processed cheese, soups, and milk came together really well and did a great job complimenting the vegetables which I could distinguish in taste. The rice added great texture. I would describe this dish as a gooey meld of subtle flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YearnForTheBurn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Taste is good but amount of rice is overwhelming and overflows the 9x12 pan. Will be using again but with much less rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I made this last night with a couple of changes. First, I did what another reviewer had said- I cut the cheese into blocks and melted it with the cans of soup in a baking dish. I also used sharp cheddar and pepper jack cheese. I added a can of cheddar cheese soup to the cream of chicken and cream of mushroom mixture. I sautéed the onions, added the broccoli for a few minutes. I didn't have instant rice, so I boiled the rice I had for about 3 minutes in salt water. After the cheese and soup was melted, I added everything else and baked at 350 for about 30 minutes. I got great feedback! Thanks for this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
This recipe was great but I did add a some milk and cooked chicken. I also used bouilon cubes to flavor the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This was absolutely AMAZING! Seriously, restaurant-style good. I did make a few small changes, however. One--I do not like mushrooms, so I used cream of broccoli soup instead. I was worried that doing that may have made it too broccoli-ish, but it really didn't at all. Also, I did not use that much cheese because that's just so unhealthy, haha. I used about half that amount and that was perfect. Truly, the whole thing came out beautifully. Definitely became a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
i added chili powder and paprika (just a sprinkle) as well as crushed garlic and a bit of olive oil to my onion & celery mixture. it gave it the extra kick it needed so it wasnt bland at all (as others have noted). Aside from being an extremely high calorie meal/side dish, this recipe is delicious, easy and not too time consuming. It took me about 30 minutes to prep everything and then another 35-45 in the oven. and you spend that 35-45 washing the dishes you used to prep so before you know it your food is done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shabazazar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Pretty good. I made it with sharp cheddar, rather than Velveeta to create a richer taste. I would have used celery, but ours had gone bad. Husband loved it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
It was fabulous! I can´t say that I followed the directions to the letter but the changes I made were because I didn´t have all of the ingredients or I wanted to make things easier. I didn´t use celery. I steamed fresh broccoli. I only used 1 cup of uncooked rice therefore the liquid is necessary but I used milk instead of water. Shredded cheese on top and not melted with soups (didn´t heat soups). Seasoned salt, black pepper, paprika, and the onions cooked in butter is vital. Baked covered for a while and then I uncovered, added cheese, and baked for about 15 additional minutes. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Good "base" recipe I did make a few of my own additions that made this amazing!! I cut the recipe in half and had a good sized casserole. I added a minced garlic clove and 2-3 diced jalapeno slices to the celery and onion. Then a little bit of the jarred jalapeno juice to the cheese and soup mixture. Used 1/2 frozen and half fresh broccoli. I would have used all fresh but did not have enough. I also used half of the cheese it recommended. Casserole was very very good!! Will definitely make again, especially for gatherings b/c it's so easy to throw together and refrigerate until ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 507) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States