Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I have made this recipe several times to rave reviews and this is how our family does it: forget the water and DON'T cook the rice. After sauteing the veggies (along with lots of garlic), add the soups and cheese and mix in the saute pan till cheese melts, then add uncooked instant rice and broccoli, add a big bunch of fresh chopped parsley, season with salt and pepper and any other herbs that grab you that day (thyme is my favorite), pour into a buttered baking dish and bake covered for 30 minutes, then uncover, top with shredded cheddar cheese and bake 10-15 minutes more. Allow to sit for 15 minutes before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
My family wouldn't forgive me if I didn't make this for every holiday. I use a small jar of cheez whiz instead of the chopped cheese, add fresh mushrooms and chopped water chestnuts for a crunchy texture. Also, I only add 1/4 cup of water. Use a food processor to roughly chop the celery and onions - makes it easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I used one can of cheddar cheese soup and one can of broccoli chese soup instead of the cream of mushroom and cream of chicken. Entire family liked it much better... Just a variation depending on your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermitage, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I love this casserole. I have made it for Christmas every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
It was really good but it is a little bit sloppy. Not to say it was bad my two year old ate it and loved it so did my wife. It is a lot of work. We ate it as a meal I know there is not any meat but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Just finished making this a few minutes ago, even before it hits the oven it's tasty! Used fresh steamed broccoli and left it chunky, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I use broccoli cuts instead of chopped,1/2 cup milk instead of water,1 can cream mushroom soup & no cream of chicken, 1 cup or more of fresh sliced mushrooms, and 1 8oz jar of cheese whiz or more to your liking, and 2 packages of instant rice. I also cut out the celery. This version cuts out alot of time! i get requested to make this wherever i go and always wanting my recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This is a great recipe. You have to customize it to your taste in order for it to turn out right. For instance, I used sharp cheddar cheese instead of American processed cheese. I added seasoned chicken broth to both soups instead of water to give the dish some dimension. Also, I sometimes add skinless dark meat chicken. Everyone can't get enough of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ellabell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Rather bland as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This is the most amazing broccoli and cheese dish I've ever had! No modifications necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tenderok

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 506) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States