Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
I am so Glad I found this recipe. Made it tonight for dinner. This recipe is my MIL"signature" dish. she brings it to every pot luck or BBQ. My kids love it and she won't give out the recipe. This is it. I left out the celery because I wanted it to be just like hers and she doesn't use it. Now I can make it anytime. thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
So wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sock Monkey Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by ♥Tracey-Li♥
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I'm still giving this 5 stars for being a good springboard recipe. It's very rare I can follow a recipe exactly :) Instead of frozen broccoli I used fresh and I steamed it. I skipped the celery because I didn't have any. I also used regular long-grain rice which I cooked before assembling the casserole. Instead of processed cheese I used sharp cheddar and monterey jack. I also added bacon because...well, bacon makes everything better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ♥Tracey-Li♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I made this recipe tonight after work and my family adored it. I have made BR casserole before and it came out very mushy, but this set up great. Only alteration I made was to use only 3 stalks of celery and used an 8 oz pkg of velveeta plus 8 oz of cheddar cheese. Wonderful recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
The key difference is to add parmesan cheese...WOW! I also used medium cheddar cheese. No wonder so many people think this recipe is bland, american cheese and velveta are nasty and bland. I used fresh broccoli since the store was out of frozen florets, and I steamed it first, but should have steamed it longer because it was crunchy. I used 2 bundles and that was to much broccoli. I also used 1 can of cream of mushroom and chicken soup combo, and 1 cream of broccoli soup, 3 cups jasmin rice cooked in rice cooker, (makes more than 3 cups) and added diced chicken breast. I cooked the chicken about have done in a skillet with garlic powder, white pepper and Tony's Seasoning. Cooking the chicken until done, and then cooking the casserole for 30 minutes would overcook and dry the chicken. I didn't use celery, added about a cup of milk instead of water, and sprinkled the top with italian bread crumbs. Don't forget the Tony's cajun seasoning mixed in the final casserole. Delicious! The 5 stars is for my version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I don't know what some of you people are talking about. A lot of people said this was bland, but common sense should tell you that you will need to use salt and pepper, as broccoli and rice tend to be quite bland without it, especially in large quanities. This recipe is the best broccoli rice casserole I have tasted. I used 3/4 cups of milk instead of water and it turned out perfect. I also did not use the celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This was a good recipe for broccoli rice casserole, but think it needed some more cheese. Next time I think I'll try adding 8 oz more of Velveeta and see how it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Sporadic Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
We're a bunch of fat people in the South and I'm pretty sure I've never used water in a casserole. Sub 3/4 c half and half for it or heck, go for full on cream. We all know this cass is best eaten with a spoon! Merriest Christmas, MZ
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momzilla
Home Town: Sycamore, Kansas, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Made it for a potluck. It came out great. I did omit the celery though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariel E.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This was excellent. I halved the recipe since its just my daughter and myself. Wonderful weeknight side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 528) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States