Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I love broccoli so this was a priority! Although I skipped the cooking on the stove steps, the onion and celery and just threw everything else together in a 9x13 dish. Put the rice, soup and water in first and stirred it well then added in broccoli, cheese, seasonings and also chicken then popped it in the over for about an hour and it is amazing! Minus the fact that I let it cook a bit too long and the rice is super chewy, it is definitely something I'll make regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I did try this recipe, but used it as a base. I only had one can of condensed soup so I made thickener with butter flour and milk added some chicken stock some basic spices and added some cheddar mixed with the one can of condensed soup, i also added about 2oz of cream cheese that i had on hand, mized in with the rice and broccoli. I also topped mine with cheese and buttered bread crumbs, it was delicious and flavorful. I guess i didnt really use the recipe at all but it just goes to show you that items can be substituted and altered, for the same or an even better result! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Letricia Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Thanks to the other cooks who shared a few tips like adding milk instead of water and those who mentioned that the dish was on the bland side, I decided to add my own magic to it. I mixed the soup, and cubed cheese with salt, pepper, thyme and baked it in the oven until the cheese was melted. I then mixed in shredded cheese and allowed that to melt in the oven for about 2 minutes. I melted the butter, onions and added the broccoli. After the veggies were warmed up I seasoned the broccoli with salt, pepper, adobo, season salt, creole spice. In the last 5mns of baking time I mixed chicken stuffing, rits crackers and melted butter and sprinkled that across for a little crunchy texture. It was a huge hit with both my family and a houseful of kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Great recipe. Our family does not like mushrooms so only used cream of chicken soup. Also, we used yellow rice instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Countertop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I cut the recipe in half. Used 10oz chopped spinach instead, one can chicken soup instead of wasting a half can of each, and grated cheddar. I added a little more water to make the sauce a little thinner. All else was the same. While in the oven, I browned six spinach asiago chicken sausages. Served two browned sausage links on top of a serving of casserole. It was out-of-this-world delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This was very good, the only change I made was using a can of cream of celery soup instead of cream of chicken and used 3/4 cup of milk instead of water and left out the celery and use fresh broccoli- sherry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I made this for Christmas but I ended up not using onion. Not very fond of onion but it did come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Perfect. glad I did not read the reviews first. I follow the directions and added salt of course because of the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
As made this recipe to spec, except I used Cheez whiz. It came out great! I would not consider it "bland", but it does not have a lot of seasoning (as one can tell when they read the recipe). But that is an easy fix--- season to your own taste. It is comforting, and a staple at our holiday table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mylucky10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I love this casserole, though I have made in slightly different in the past to yield a stronger flavor. For those of you complaining you might want to try yellow rice (I always precook mine and X the water in the recipe). Another tip is adding in a spicy cheese. This could be a hot cheese dip that you would use for chips or a spicy velveeta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States