Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Delicious!!! Took a little longer than what it says for prep time, but to see my man eat almost half of the entire casserole dish made it all worthwhile, Lol. I did listen to some of the changes in regards to replacing the water to milk, and hearing that it could be bland I opted for Monterrey Jack cheese to give it that kick (also not a single grocery store here in Canada has cheese called "American processed Cheese", its unhealthy anyways to eat food that even has a label such as processed). I also didn't go the lazy frozen route with the Broccoli, I got it fresh then steamed the vegetable - Yum Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Canmore, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I used a second can of mushroom soup instead of the chicken soup since I am a vegetarian - I also added a pinch of ground mustard, a hefty amount of garlic powder, and a handful of shredded mozzarella that I happened to have left over from a previous meal. Baked for 45 minutes and it turned out fantastically! I did make this a second time and I don't know what was wrong with my brain that day but I dumped in my rice - UNCOOKED! Oh no! I ended up adding a bit extra water and cooking it a little longer, and it actually turned out just fine - crisis averted! (I used Minute Rice.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I made a few changes due wanting to use the just using the stuff I already had on hand. Substituted cheddar cheese soup(campbells) for one of the soups, and added 2 cups of shredded cheddar instead of Velveeta. Added most of it into the casserole, just sprinkled a little on top. Also used regular rice that I had precooked, just added it into the soup mixture before throwing in the oven. Great recipe and a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Tried this for the second time tonight and still love it. I made my own adjustments and listened to the reviews adding for adding more flavor...added granulated garlic. I put 1/2 the amount of of cheese and as one reviewer I read had done I added subbed milk for water. I used cooked wild rice instead as well. I agree that cooking instructions are way too much work and it comes out just as good if you just throw everything together! Great side dish served with chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
We loved this! We used cream of chicken with herbs and we halved the recipe. I also seasoned it with salt and pepper. We will use steamed rice sometimes and we find you don't need to re-bake it after mixing everything. Also if we don't have enough velveeta we will just use some shredded cheese since we always have it on hand. So yummy, this will be be a regular side dish for us now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I had this dish in the 70's. everything is processed. It needs healthy ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Great taste, but way too much rice. I had to add more liquid as well. Too many pots and pans. But family really enjoyed this. I used chicken stock instead of water with the rice, and crumbled some Ritz crackers on the top for the last 15 minuntes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This was delicious. I added shredded chicken, and instead of water, I used the chicken broth from the chicken that I boiled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I subsituted milk for the water and added a little extra cheese and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Recipe is great with a few crucial additions. FIRST: Add 1 cup of sliced baby carrots and 1 diced yellow pepper to the onion mixture before you saute. SECOND: this is crucial- when you add the ingredients to bowl for mixing add in 1/4 cup of Mrs. Dash original blend spices (the yellow one) and 1 tablespoon of salt, this makes it taste sooo much better. THIRD: Add 4 cups of cubed chicken breast for a more filling meal. FOURTH: Top with sliced cheddar cheese for the last 10 minutes of baking. Dish was delicious and my very picky son even loved it and just a bonus that I was able to fill it with some extra veggies and protien for him :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 507) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States