Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving this year and it turned out well. Everyone complimented me about the dish. I omitted the butter & onion (just don't like), steamed the broccoli on the stove and used basmati rice cause I had that on hand. But kept everything else the same. I had to add some salt & pepper at the end cause it was kinda bland. But the salt brought the flavors out and everyone liked it & asked me to make it next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This was easy and tasted good; however, it really didn't have anything special about it. I did like the ease of preparation though, and the ability to lighten it up calorie/fat wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
LOVE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
My aunt always made this for Thanksgiving, but she added a crunchy topping. After you pour into a baking dish, melt a small amount of butter in the skillet and add a stack of crunched up crackers. Stir until crakcers are coated, then add to the top of the casserol before baking. Makes a yummy crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I've been making a variation of this recipe for over 30 years. Instead of Cheez Whiz, I use a can of cheddar cheese soup and 1 can of cream of mushroom soup. Then, I top the casserole with breadcrumbs before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I made this recipe and followed the directions to a T. The broccoli was overcooked and the rice wasn't cooked at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
The recipe is good with the following changes... No onion, that's just gross.. I also added some diced up jalapeños (pickled) and jalapeño juice to give it a kick of spice. Also, I used Cream of Mushroom instead... All that combined came out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I used 1/3 cup heavy cream and 2 cups sharp shredded cheddar instead of the Cheese Whiz. It was excellent! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: St. Charles, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Nothing against this particular recipe itself, I think my oven just HATE broccoli rice casserole. The last 2 times I've made it 2 different ways and it still ended up bland and too runny. Last time I also had a can of cream of mushroom, this time I only had the cream of chicken, I even left out the milk and it still ended badly. Maybe I'll try again when I live somewhere else w/ a different oven. I had even more than doubled the bake time. It just burned the edges and bottom. Never thickened the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JosShavaughn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This dish was great! I don't like onions so I made it without. Instead of using cheese whiz I used velvetta. I served with a side of buttery flaky biscuits and this was very filling ! I would suggest this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States