Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I made this for the first time for Thanksgiving last year. Everyone in my house hates green bean casserole, so I decided to try this as an alternative. It was so good I also made it as a side dish at Christmas and Easter. I use Cream of Celery Soup instead of Chicken, 1 cup of sour cream and a combination of cheddar and velveeta for the cheese. After I pour in the casserole dish, I make a crunchy topping out of one (1) sleeve of crushed ritz crackers mixed with 1 stick of melted butter. My whole family loves this, even my picky 11 year old. Great basic recipe that you can make your own!!! I will be making this again for the holidays this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
The best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This was soooo good! I used cream of mushroom soup & Velveeta in place of the cream of chicken & Cheez Wiz. We'll def be having this again. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I made this spur of the moment. My husband totally loved in the pan and not in the oven yet. I did not leave in the oven for the full 30 minutes I think it would have been dry. I will try on my kids. Definitely making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This is the best broccoli rice casserole I have found. I didnt use the onion (husband hates them) and used fresh broccoli. I chopped it up and blanched it for 30 seconds. I also used one can of fiesta cheddar soup and one cheese soup from Campbell's instead of the chicken one. I didn't have any on hand. I sprinkled french onions on top and covered . I cooked for 25 minutes then 5 minutes uncovered. Awesome. Just awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Hayden Denehy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I tripled the rice, doubled the broccoli, added a pound of cooked chicken and only added about 2-3 extra ounces of chez whiz. That cut down on the amount of not-so-good for you sauce, and added a lot more good-for-you food to this meal. It was also enough to feed about 10 people! I used a couple tablespoons of dried onion rather than the fresh onion. It was awesome, very creamy, cheesy...a real comfort meal. Perfect for serving a crowd too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I am only giving this recipe 4 stars because CheezWhiz is not an ingredient- it is a condiment. A really, really unhealthy condiment. We used a cheese base of butter, flour, milk, and shredded cheddar, then added the condensed chicken soup and more milk. We threw in the cooked chicken, thawed broccoli, and rice, then baked for 30 min. Came out great with minor modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vbjess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I wasn't expecting this recipe to be so good. I chose to try it because it looked very quick and easy and I didn't have much time. Changes? I substituted Cream of Mushroom soup for the Cream of Chicken because one of our guests was vegetarian, and to add a little texture, I added crushed croutons to the top of the casserole before baking. All in all, it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this on Christmas Day as an extra side. I didn't have Cheese Whiz or Velveeta, but followed the instructions as written and added 2 1/2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese (instead of the Cheese Whiz or Velveeta). It was excellent and was the first dish to be finshed. It will become a regular in our house and in the future I'll be sure to have the CW before making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
So very good!!! Flavor improves the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Eatonton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States