Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I made this spur of the moment. My husband totally loved in the pan and not in the oven yet. I did not leave in the oven for the full 30 minutes I think it would have been dry. I will try on my kids. Definitely making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This is the best broccoli rice casserole I have found. I didnt use the onion (husband hates them) and used fresh broccoli. I chopped it up and blanched it for 30 seconds. I also used one can of fiesta cheddar soup and one cheese soup from Campbell's instead of the chicken one. I didn't have any on hand. I sprinkled french onions on top and covered . I cooked for 25 minutes then 5 minutes uncovered. Awesome. Just awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Hayden Denehy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I tripled the rice, doubled the broccoli, added a pound of cooked chicken and only added about 2-3 extra ounces of chez whiz. That cut down on the amount of not-so-good for you sauce, and added a lot more good-for-you food to this meal. It was also enough to feed about 10 people! I used a couple tablespoons of dried onion rather than the fresh onion. It was awesome, very creamy, cheesy...a real comfort meal. Perfect for serving a crowd too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I am only giving this recipe 4 stars because CheezWhiz is not an ingredient- it is a condiment. A really, really unhealthy condiment. We used a cheese base of butter, flour, milk, and shredded cheddar, then added the condensed chicken soup and more milk. We threw in the cooked chicken, thawed broccoli, and rice, then baked for 30 min. Came out great with minor modifications!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vbjess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I wasn't expecting this recipe to be so good. I chose to try it because it looked very quick and easy and I didn't have much time. Changes? I substituted Cream of Mushroom soup for the Cream of Chicken because one of our guests was vegetarian, and to add a little texture, I added crushed croutons to the top of the casserole before baking. All in all, it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this on Christmas Day as an extra side. I didn't have Cheese Whiz or Velveeta, but followed the instructions as written and added 2 1/2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese (instead of the Cheese Whiz or Velveeta). It was excellent and was the first dish to be finshed. It will become a regular in our house and in the future I'll be sure to have the CW before making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
So very good!!! Flavor improves the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Eatonton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by C R Henning
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This is a really great recipe that you can easily customize to suit your own taste. Although, I do agree with some of the other reviewers when they say that it is a little bland as is, and really REALLY creamy! I ended up using half Velveeta and half sharp cheddar for that extra tangy-ness, about 1 tsp. salt, and using almost double the amount of rice. Since it was just adults eating this, I added a lot of fresh ground pepper. Next time I may try adding some salsa or some diced tomatoes. It makes a lot, but you will be surprised how quickly it is gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C R Henning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This has become a family favorite during the holidays! I use brown rice in my recipe, I think it has more flavor than white rice. I also use mushroom soup instead of chicken soup. I love the browned edges of this delicious side! I will continue to make this amazing dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I made this tonight for dinner, with a few changes that I've read through the comments. I don't keep processed cheese like cheez whiz in the house, but I did have a can of Campbell's Broccoli & Cheddar soup, so I subbed that in for the cheez whiz. I also added in some chicken, and minced garlic when I was sautéing the onions in butter. I also doubled the amount of rice, so 3 cups of cooked rice total, and added some salt and pepper. It turned out fantastic with those changes. I couldn't imagine this recipe with half the amount of rice in it. I think it might end up a bit on the runny side. Overall, I'd make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States