Broccoli Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I wasn't expecting this recipe to be so good. I chose to try it because it looked very quick and easy and I didn't have much time. Changes? I substituted Cream of Mushroom soup for the Cream of Chicken because one of our guests was vegetarian, and to add a little texture, I added crushed croutons to the top of the casserole before baking. All in all, it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I made this on Christmas Day as an extra side. I didn't have Cheese Whiz or Velveeta, but followed the instructions as written and added 2 1/2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese (instead of the Cheese Whiz or Velveeta). It was excellent and was the first dish to be finshed. It will become a regular in our house and in the future I'll be sure to have the CW before making it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
So very good!!! Flavor improves the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Eatonton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by C R Henning
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This is a really great recipe that you can easily customize to suit your own taste. Although, I do agree with some of the other reviewers when they say that it is a little bland as is, and really REALLY creamy! I ended up using half Velveeta and half sharp cheddar for that extra tangy-ness, about 1 tsp. salt, and using almost double the amount of rice. Since it was just adults eating this, I added a lot of fresh ground pepper. Next time I may try adding some salsa or some diced tomatoes. It makes a lot, but you will be surprised how quickly it is gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C R Henning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This has become a family favorite during the holidays! I use brown rice in my recipe, I think it has more flavor than white rice. I also use mushroom soup instead of chicken soup. I love the browned edges of this delicious side! I will continue to make this amazing dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I made this tonight for dinner, with a few changes that I've read through the comments. I don't keep processed cheese like cheez whiz in the house, but I did have a can of Campbell's Broccoli & Cheddar soup, so I subbed that in for the cheez whiz. I also added in some chicken, and minced garlic when I was sautéing the onions in butter. I also doubled the amount of rice, so 3 cups of cooked rice total, and added some salt and pepper. It turned out fantastic with those changes. I couldn't imagine this recipe with half the amount of rice in it. I think it might end up a bit on the runny side. Overall, I'd make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
A great recipe that is so comforting. I often add a bit more rice and then just use the whole jar of cheese wiz (15oz).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Added chopped cooked turkey, substituted the white rice for brown, used real cheddar cheese so I also had to use another can of cream of chicken soup. Added 1 clove of garlic as well! Couldn't get enough to make it extra special I topped it off with cheddar cheese and some panko breadcrumbs to make an awesome crunchy topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Best Broccoli Casserole the Family has ever had!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
VERY GOOD DISH!!! However I did make a few changes. I used half cream of mushroom(b/c I LOVE MUSHROOMS) and half a can of cream of chicken. I also cut the butter use in half to brown the onion(which I also cut in half). I let the butter cook almost completely out & used water to steam the broccoli. Baked it with shredded chedder on top. I'm sure I will cook this one again. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States