Broccoli Quiche with Mashed Potato Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I made this Quiche for supper this evening and it was a huge success. My family loved the potatoe crust bottom. I added some cut up toupie ham and it was wonderful. This is going to be a regular in our home. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by menasheep
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This quiche is wonderful. I prefer the potato crust to a regular pie crust. Much more like comfort food. I have made some changes though. Instead of black pepper I used white. I also added about 1/4 t garlic powder, and sharp cheddar, and next time, I'm leaving out the nutmeg. It didn't seem to fit with the dish. This quiche is more comfort food, less savory food. Thanks for the keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This was a very tasty dish. I had a bunch of problems with getting the crust right, though. it was way too soupy, so I added some flour. Still too soupy, so I microwaved it several times for a minute to turn the potatoes into more of a paste before I could do anything else with it. That was a pain. But other than that, it was good. I will probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was a tasty recipe, very good way to use leftover mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This is a time consuming recipe. However, the quiche is delicious and it is worth giving some efforts to make it. You can also twist this recipe easily by adding any vegetables you like. I like adding mushrooms and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This is a lovely change from the classic pie shell quiche. I baked the crust a bit longer than written and added a bit more cheese. It was a hit with my family and at the party I took it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3Gs4Me

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was so good! I got lots of compliments and was bummed that there were no leftovers when I took it to New Years brunch. Instead of making the mashed potatoes from scratch, I used the garlic & herb flavor Oreida Steam & Mash that you can find in the freezer section. I'm not a big broccoli fan, so substituted a 10oz pkg of frozen chopped spinach (thawed) and a pkg of pre-sliced mushrooms. I sauteed the mushrooms with the onion. I also am not a big fan of cheddar and so used 1 cup of pre-shredded italian blend cheese, and also added 1/2 cup of feta. I also used a 4th egg as mentioned in some of the other reviews. My only complaint was that I didn't spread the mashed potato evenly in the pie pan. I had it thicker on the bottom than on the sides, so the sides got burnt before the bottom was done when I was baking the crust. I just cut off the burnt part though and no one even noticed that the side crust was missing. It was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I had leftover mashed potatoes from Thanksgiving that I used to make this recipe. After pre-baking the potatoes for 30 minutes, they were slightly browned. However, after adding the filling ingredients, and baking for 45 minutes, the bottom was not crispy. It did not affect the taste whatsoever, as the recipe is still delicious. The crust more blended with the filling rather than being a separate entity, like a typical pie crust. It's a great way to use leftover mashed potatoes and is very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Interesting variation on a traditional crust. In the future I will probably add some additional spices to the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Yum! I used egg substitute instead (3/4 cup), and shallots in place of the onion. I also added some roasted corn. I didn't have enough mashed potatoes for a full crust, so I used a square baking pan instead of a pie plate for a bottom crust. It came out nicely, is easy to serve, and I can see doubling this recipe and baking it in a 13x9 pan to take to a brunch potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States