Broccoli Quiche with Mashed Potato Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Dreygan
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Very good recipe! I did take a few of the suggestions in the reviews, such as adding an egg and about a tablespoon of flour to the mashed potatoes to help them get firm. They did get pretty firm, and a little crispy on the edges. I used only 1 cup broccoli and then 1 cup of red and green peppers for a little more variety. Also grilled the onions (and did the peppers just a little) to make them a little more tender. I left out the nutmeg just cause i dont have any and it sounded a little funny... my mom said i would like it in there, so i might try it some other time. As a whole it was very good, next time i might add a little garlic salt or garlic powder to kinda add some extra flavor, but will DEFINATLY make this again. OH... and my girlfriend thought i should add more cheese or mix the cheese in more with the veggies (i had sprinkled it over the top of them after laying them out and before pouring the eggs over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dreygan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
...I tried this recipe because I liked the idea of a potato crust..I used 10 small peeled red potatoes and proceeded as written...The first thing you taste is the crunchy broccoli (small dice) and the egg..next I could taste the potato crust(crunchy on the edges more mashed in the center). Fairly good flavor..will try this again with more seasoning and cheese...thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPHILLIPS9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LUMINARA
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This is a fine recipe. The whole family liked it. But I would do two things differently next time around. #1) omit the nutmeg entirely. It made the quiche taste a little off. Did not match the flow of flavors at all. #2) add more cheese. Quiche was a bit too dry for my taste. With these two little tweaks, the recipe will be flawless! Don't forget to be creative and add different vegetables to the mix from time to time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
This is absolutely easy to make and has great taste! Everyone was impressed by it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mache_ng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, San Jose , Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
This a great recipe! My Dad is an 81 yr old picky eater and gluten intolerate. Which makes finding tasteful affordable food very difficult. This recipe is a blessing! It has all the ingredients he loves it tastes great and no wheat! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Easy and healthy. Try adding sweet potatos with the regular nes for more color and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This is a great stick-to-your-ribs kind of meal that will keep you going all day long. Great flavor, but I would halve the onion amount and double the cheddar cheese, maybe add some red peppers or tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burlingame, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
I made this dish as a simple accompaniment to go with our meal of crumbed fish and vegies, and it went down quite well, however my husband and son both thought it could do to be a LOT more cheesier! I did add cauliflower aswell as the broccoli, which was very nice as I had leftovers of both. I would make this again, but next time add a lot more cheese, or use a cheese sauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONNYBABY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bentley, Western Australia, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
Very good. The "crust" wasn't very crusty and it was a little time consuming, but I would make it again. I left out the onion and pepper and used vegetable oil in place of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Quiche

You won’t believe how easy, and delicious, this vegetarian quiche is.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States