Broccoli, Pepperoni and Three Cheese Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
These were great and a huge hit at a recent Labor Day Party. I took the advice of others and doubled the filling, adding a cup of hard salami along with the diced pepperoni. The dough is a bit sticky and I did add some extra flour during the kneading stage. Definitely a pretty dish and tastes great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
yum this crust was soo good but i had to add way more flour than the recipe called for for some reason. unless i measured wrong. i put some melted butter and garlic on the tops before baking and they were so tasty! this is a great recipe to use as a base because it was super easy to make a few different fillings and have a good variety with these. i will definitely make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
These were extremely good. I'm not a big fan of broccoli, so I put in an entire package of the sliced pepperoni (couldn't find any diced, still worked extremely well). They were a little bread-y but so wonderfully tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nimrod, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This was delicious!! I made this into stromboli using Jay's pizza crust (from this site) and substituted the provolone cheese for cheddar cheese. It's a good way to get to eat broccoli:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
I sauteed the garlic with 1 cup of onions before adding them to the filling. I also added ricotta cheese. I substituted chicken for the pepperoni and it turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This calzone definitly took some time but it was well worth it! My husband loved them. Next time I'm going to try them with spaghetti sauce! Thank You for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
I made this - just to see how it compared to another recipe on this site ...REAL ITALIAN CALZONES. I am staying with the othr recipe because it seemed to be a bigger hit at my house. This was missing something for us. You should not mess with perfection - and for us (personal taste) we preferred the other recipe. Good stuff though - so try it and compare yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINALEWIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura Cello
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
The calzones were good, but the recipe only came out with enough to stuff about 4 1/2 calzones the way it was measured. I had to make extra to go inside the remaining ones. I also used premade garlic & herb dough from Trader Joe's instead of making my own like the recipe said, and they tasted great with the herb dough. When they were done baking, we dipped them in marinara sauce to add some extra flavor. I am rather inexperienced at cooking, and found this recipe difficult (and rather time consuming with the problems I encountered) but tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Cello

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
This is an excellent recipe! I make this anytime my husband has a bunch of friends over... the guys love it. I've made the dough from scratch and also with pre-made (depending on how much time I have). It has turned out well both ways. My only change is more garlic (IMO you can never have too much LOL).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMILYFONTES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
This is sooo yummy! I've always loved calzones and these are some of the best I've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States