Broccoli, Pepperoni and Three Cheese Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
My husband tried making these exactly as written. He mentioned that there was too little flour in the dough as it was just a sticky mess and constantly stuck to the table. Later, after prepping the insides, he found that there was not enough filling for each calzone as written - he only had enough for four. So he split the filling up for all the dough he had. While the dough tasted great, that was pretty much all there was. Each calzone had a pitiful amount of filling inside to a big mound of dough, and all it tasted like was overwhelmingly pepperoni. If I hadn't read the recipe I would have been wondering if there was any cheese or broccoli. We ended up dipping it in sauce as it was too dry. We'll make calzones again, but definitely not this recipe. Also, I'm not sure why this recipe says "salt and pepper to taste". Do you really think this needs any salt and pepper since there's already pepperoni in it? Who just puts salt and pepper on everything they eat?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
The dough stuck together well. Our house found that they were dry and needed a sauce. Depending on the filling an alfredo or tomato based sauce would be gret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Amazing!!! They freeze well too so I will be making a double recipe to keep in the freezer for quick last minute meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
My family loves these. We are vegetarians, so we use a vegetarian meat alternative, instead of pepperoni. It's also, my husbands favorite crust. I use the crust portion of the recipe for regular pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I used this recipe for the dough, but made my own filling with what I had. The crust turned out really good, it was chewy and slightly crispy on the outside. It didn't get too soggy from the filling either. I would suggest making 8 calzones with the amount of dough in this recipe because I made 6 and they turned out huge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
It was kind of dry so I had a white cream sauce to it the second time and it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I used this recipe just for the crust part(I just use pepperoni & cheese for filling), but the crust is phenomenal! I LOVE it!!! My husband works a job where he is always in a truck & doesn't have time to stop and eat but these are great because he can take them with him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rangergirl56m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Awesome recipe! Even my picky husband loved it. I use pizza dough from the supermarket to save some time....it came out great......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crewshome

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This was very tasty. The dough was perfect and I had lots of leftovers! I added some fresh basil, chopped mushrooms and fresh tomato along with oregano, parsley and red pepper flakes to the filling to give it a bit of a kick (however, next time I will double the filling to get fuller calzones). Time consuming to make; but definitely worth it. Served them with some marinara sauce and they were awesome. Will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crowley, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States