Broccoli Mac and Cheese with Bacon and Potato Nugget Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Found it to be greasy.. It was ok..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
This recipe is a fine basic but be warned it is NOT at all flavourful the way it is written. Use your own spices and herbs and don't bother with the adobo. As other reviews say, mix everything in a bowl before you put it in the dish BUT (a big but) wait until everything has cooled to room temp. There is nothing worse than scrambled eggs and curdled milk. Forget about the butter, reserve a tablespoon of the bacon grease the way nature intended. To send this recipe to the next level double the bacon and arrange a layer of fresh whole spinach leaves on top of the macaroni, then add the final cheese layer. I grated a little fresh parmesan on top after it came out of the oven. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This is the best mac n cheese recipe ever. I used a whole package of bacon, eliminated the butter altogether (except to butter the pan) and sauteed the broccoli and onion in the bacon grease after it was cooked. mixed in half the bacon with the pasta and used the rest to top it off before baking. also used galric powder instead of adobo (didn't have any). AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
My husband and daughter loved this. My husband said it was one of the best things I ever made and my daughter asked if I could make it everyday. I doubled the bacon because of a review I read but even then my husband said I should double that. He also said if I left out the brocoli it would be way better...I told him tough. I gave it 4 stars because it definately needed salt but besides that it was great. I also suggest using more tater tots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Not great. Couldn't taste adobo at all, even with half the amount of pasta. I substituted BBQ chicken because I didn't have bacon. Pre-cooked potatoes for about 10 minutes to make sure they were done and a little crispy. It was OK, but nothing to write home about, and it was definitely a lot of mess to clean up with preparation. Fortunately, I could clean while the meal was cooking, which was a bonus. Would work best for a side dish at a potluck instead of a main dish at home, especially with the fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
We weren't a fan of this recipe, it was just OK. The flavor was ok but it was far from cheesy enough for us. Alsom if you are going to try it, I wouldn't suggest making it with fat free milk like I did, I had cooked chunks of milk in it, and I did mix it well before putting it all in the dish! The only thing I did different from the recipe was leave out the potatoes/taters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This was wonderful. I made a couple of minor additions / changes but I don't think it really altered the recipe much. I forgot to buy the Adobo Seasoning so used Garlic / Herb etc, I added a layer of fresh spinach before the adding the last layer of cheese etc, and then because we're not huge Tater Tot fans, we used diced seasoned hashbrowns instead. My husband loved it and we decided we're going to try using Pepper Jack cheese the next time to give it a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marjie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Best Mac and Cheese EVER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Used rotini pasta. Added a lot more cheese and went for a more cheese/butter/roux. Melting the cheese with the butter and adding fat free half and half, adding the cheese and then working the veggies into it. Roasted my veggies with garlic, just a preference, but very good. We went for fat free cheese also. It's fun to make good food and morph it into something we like. Recipe as it stands is great, we just made it work for our new diet! thanks so much, this is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
The men liked it, me not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States