Broccoli in Roast Chicken Drippings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Although my chicken was spicy, the brocoli had no great flavor and was actually greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
The idea of the chicken drippings intrigued me. What great flavor they’ll give the broccoli, I thought. That, accompanied by the rave reviews, led me to anticipate something delightful, a real treat. I didn't go through the trouble of roasting the chicken myself, but I did buy a rotisserie chicken, with its accompanying wonderful drippings, expressly for this recipe. I was disappointed in the result. The broccoli never really got tender (let alone in 5-8 minutes) and, frankly, was surprisingly even on the dry side. If I was to do this again I’d steam the broccoli first and then toss it with the drippings, skipping the oven-roasting altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Made along with "Chicken Breasts with Olives" recipe, using stuffed green olives from Sentry's olive bar and a jar of sweet pickled cocktail onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I will NEVER roast another chicken without making this broccoli! I used a defrosted bag of baby broccoli florets and drippings from the "Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style" recipe on allrecipes. Was so delicious! Really can't wait to make this again YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I usually roast my chicken on top of my vegetables (broccoli, cauliflower, onion, carrot, potato & garlic all rough cut). Salt and pepper veggies and garlic and toss with just enough extra virgin olive oil to coat lightly then place seasoned chicken on top & roast. I've done whole chicken and chicken thighs, both delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Why didn't I think of doing this myself???? Thanks this is incredible & so easy.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Kristin, how do you spice your chicken? This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
It should be against the law to throw away chicken drippings. LOL! For all the "scaredy cats" who think pan drippings are "bad for you" just skim the layer of fat off the top. The bottom (darker color) of the "drippings" doesn't have fat! Sheesh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
outstanding!! added carrots - next time will put in some onion too. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States