Broccoli in Roast Chicken Drippings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I thought this had a Wonderful flavor. I could see if your chicken isn't roasted in something very flavorful then your broccoli may not be flavorful. I didn't have to add anything except the garlic and I used 3 cloves that I sliced up(we love garlic). You do need to adjust the amount of drippings for the amount of broccoli. I had 3 small heads of broccoli in the bunch I got at the store. I cut up and I did use the stalks, I just thinly sliced them. I used about 1/2 cup of great drippings. I cooked mine @ 350 for 20 mins. Could have cooked a little longer. I understand that I added the stalks so that is why I had to cook longer than what the recipe called for. I had cooked the chicken a couple of days ago and remembered this recipe so I just saved the drippings and today I pulled it out and used it, so glad I saved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Although my chicken was spicy, the brocoli had no great flavor and was actually greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
The idea of the chicken drippings intrigued me. What great flavor they’ll give the broccoli, I thought. That, accompanied by the rave reviews, led me to anticipate something delightful, a real treat. I didn't go through the trouble of roasting the chicken myself, but I did buy a rotisserie chicken, with its accompanying wonderful drippings, expressly for this recipe. I was disappointed in the result. The broccoli never really got tender (let alone in 5-8 minutes) and, frankly, was surprisingly even on the dry side. If I was to do this again I’d steam the broccoli first and then toss it with the drippings, skipping the oven-roasting altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Made along with "Chicken Breasts with Olives" recipe, using stuffed green olives from Sentry's olive bar and a jar of sweet pickled cocktail onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I will NEVER roast another chicken without making this broccoli! I used a defrosted bag of baby broccoli florets and drippings from the "Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style" recipe on allrecipes. Was so delicious! Really can't wait to make this again YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I usually roast my chicken on top of my vegetables (broccoli, cauliflower, onion, carrot, potato & garlic all rough cut). Salt and pepper veggies and garlic and toss with just enough extra virgin olive oil to coat lightly then place seasoned chicken on top & roast. I've done whole chicken and chicken thighs, both delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Why didn't I think of doing this myself???? Thanks this is incredible & so easy.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cris Bynum

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Kristin, how do you spice your chicken? This is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
It should be against the law to throw away chicken drippings. LOL! For all the "scaredy cats" who think pan drippings are "bad for you" just skim the layer of fat off the top. The bottom (darker color) of the "drippings" doesn't have fat! Sheesh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States