Broccoli Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
I liked this and followed the recipe as written except for three small changes. I added a minced clove of garlic and cut the cheese in half. Also, I didn't precook the broccoli, figuring an hour in the oven would suffice. I served the casserole over rice and it was quite good! Next time, I might use less sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
I was looking for something quick & easy - and this was it. Based on other reviews I modified it this way. I added some minced garlic & chopped mushrooms to the meat & onion mixture. Additionally, I topped it all off with Fried Onions. My family dug right into this dinner. This isn't going to impress the socks off your dinner guests, but for a quick & hearty dinner for the family, it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
I loved this casserole but did make a few changes. I followed others suggestions of serving over mashed potatoes. Trying to be conscious of saturated fats, I used only 1 can of mushroom soup (instead of celery) and half the amount of sour cream. This meal is delicious even without the cheese. I sprinkled seasoned pepper and beef bullion over the meat mixture. Next time I will try this with chicken. Thanks for the recipe, it is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This is a great starter-recipe. I've made several changes, and it turned out beautifully: 8oz. of egg noodles were boiled and placed in the bottom of a casserole dish. I then put in the frozen broccoli along with a few sliced carrots. I browned the meat with the onions and added a few cloves of garlic as well as a splash of Worcestershire sauce. I used a Cheddar-Jack mix and reduced the cheese from FOUR CUPS (woah!) to about two. This recipe is very versatile and there are a countless number of things that can be added or substituted. Delicious and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This was pretty ggod especially considering that my family is pretty picky so I had to leave out the onion and the mushrooms. I left everything else the same and it was good. Better than hamburger helper that's for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ITALIANMOMOF3;)

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This was really good but I added two chopped potatoes in place of the mushrooms. Without that change I think it would have been more like soup so I'm giving it only 4 stars. My husband really enjoyed this meal and I cut the recipe in half and it was just the right size casserole for myself, husband, and our 2 year old. I also used garlic salt instead of regular salt for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHMANESSA8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
excellent..... I didn't cook the broccoli at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I pleasantly surprised my husband with this wonderfully tasting dish that is so easy to make! I cut the recipe in half and wish I didn't, because the leftovers were gone very quickly. The only thing that would make this better is to use fresh or steamfresh broccoli instead of frozen. I made this recipe with small parsley potatoes on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
As much as I wanted to like this casserole...I didn't. Maybe with a different soup such as cream of mushroom I would like it better. The sour cream taste was just too strong for me and the texture wasn't very appealing. Kids didn't care for it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
Made this with fresh broccoli instead of frozen. I steamed it in the microwave until slightly cooked, then used in place of frozen. The amount of beef I used was 1 1/2 lb. instead of two pounds. Also, 16 oz. of Jack cheese is too much - I used about ten oz. Augmented the onion in the recipe with onion powder. The cheese was browned on the top after one hour, but not burned. This dish is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States