Broccoli Hamburger Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
OK, I omitted the mushrooms and only used one lb. of ground beef, 1/2 cup of sour cream and tiny elbow macaroni on the bottom. I also added frozen corn and steamed butternut squash cubes with the fresh broccoli partly steamed. Baked for just 30 minutes and it was super tasty. A great base hamburger casserole with many yummy varitions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peaceandmagic
Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This dish was a great starting point for me, considering I have almost all the ingredients. I had red potatoes boiling when I found this recipe, then I noticed that I had 1/2 a container of ranch dip and 1/2 of sour cream, I mixed those together than added them to the hamburger. I ended up mashing the potatoes and mixing them with the brocoli add adding other spices and butter of course. I used mozzerella and colby (the only ones I had). Thanks for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by USAFWife
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I've made this twice now. First time, exactly as written, and we found it a little on the bland side and kind of boring. So, I made some modifications tonight. Both times I have to half the measurements for the beef (1 pound), broccoli (14oz frozen chopped broccoli), onion(1/2cup)because it's just 3 of us in the house. Tonight, I used 1 can of cream of mushroom with roasted garlic soup, 1 can of cream of broccoli soup, 1 cup of sour cream, added seasoned salt and pepper to the meat while browning along with the onion and 2tsp of minced garlic. I sliced 4 small red new potatoes (skins left on for color contrast), microwaved for 5 minutes with seasoned salt and pepper sprinkled over them to help get them done quicker. Mixed soup/sour cream mixture, meat, and potatoes into a 9x13 casserole dish stirred well then sprinkled with 1 small can of french fried onion strings for some crunch. Left out the cheese this time as it is creamy enough with the soup mixture. Baked uncovered at 350 for 20-30 minutes. Thanks for a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by USAFWife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefAMY
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Rather bland. I did replace the hamburger with turkey and 1 can of the cream of celery with a can of cream of mushroom. It just seemed to be missing something. Maybe a carbohydrate like hashbrowns would have done the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Add extra cheese and it was awsome and go with Mushroom soup instead of mushrooms very good recipe. Sweet_angelgril79
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_angelgirl79

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I didn't care much for this recipe. The cheese shouldn't have been added until the end, it was very brown and hard before the time was even up and i just didn't think it had much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This was a pretty tasty dish. I made a few changes. I used 1 1/2 pounds of ground turkey and added garlic. Only 8oz of Light sour cream, no salt and I added cut up potatoes and used onion powder instead of real onions because I was out. I also used just 1 can of cream of mushroom soup and a couple splashes of chicken broth to make it spread better. I only used 2 cups of cheddar cheese and threw a couple pieces of crumbled turkey bacon (left over from breakfast) on top. I figure I cut down on about 200 unnecessary calories with a few easy changes. And my husband renamed this the "Cluster Casserole" because you could add pretty much anything to it :). Good basics, but nice to change it up to suit your needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This one is a keeper. I love it. I make a lot and seperate it into lunch-sized portions for my hubby and I. We eat on it all week. I have also frozen it and eaten later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Not good at all. Makes a lot of casserole and most of ours will go in the trash can. Far too much soup, far too little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
i started by tweaking this dish by using 2 very large onions, 1 lb of broccoli and 1 lb of meat then added lea perrins worcestershire "to taste" to the beef as it cooked then added garlic powder "to taste" then added two cans of cream of mushroom instead of celery once every thing was ready for the oven, i crushed up some herb stuffing, to make alittle finer, and put it in the bottom of the glass dish then added broccoli and topped with beef mix and spreaded cheese on last...........wow....mmm...good!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States