Broccoli Crab Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Ok, nothing amazing. Can't taste the crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I make this recipe all the time, exactly as stated. It is delicous and the whole family loves it, all two of us. I recently froze some for the first time, sans crab, so will see how it turns out when it comes time to eat it. Will let you know....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Oh MY GOD!!! We LOVE this dish, LOVE it... I always get the Hubby to do it for us :) Since he's the one that found the recipe and of course he doesn't mind. Our 2 yr-old loves it too. Yummie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucker, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
this is a very yummy, easy, quick soup!!! I agree with earlier reviews and added cyanne pepper. I also added about a half a cup of chedder cheese as well and a little extra black papper. My hubby LOVED it... he said it is the perfect soup to come in from shoveling snow and eating to warm him up!! I guess I will have to make it for him in the winter again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Make sure to add salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This was so EASY and DELICIOUS! I thorougly enjoyed it! I can't wait to make for family. There were a few changes I made, I added some hot cayenne pepper and white pepper, substituted vegetable broth for the chicken, used heavy cream instead of half & half, used 2 garlic cloves, and added more crab. May add more mushrooms next time because I just love them. Definitely give this a try! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Broccoli cheese soup meets crab bisque with a few twists. I really liked the seasoning of the cream base. I was worried the swiss cheese might be a little offensive and kill the flavor, but it was barely noticeable and had very little effect. I could not taste the crab at all and for me that's not necessarily a bad thing. I want to know it's there, but can do without the fishy taste. But for me, the broccoli seemed out of place. I'm savoring the taste of this delicately rich bisque and then hit a piece of broccoli and just like that, my taste buds switch gears because I think I should be tasting a hearty broccoli cheese soup, but I'm not. It's certainly an interesting combination of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I thought this was great, but my husband didn't really care for it. I didn't really pay too much attention to him because he doesn't like seafood much. This meant more leftovers for me. I think the only issue I really had was that this didn't really hold up on reheating. I would make it for a dinner party, or somewhere I was sure to use it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
I made this over the holidays for guests and everyone loved it. I did think most of the flavor was from the swiss. I didn't taste much of the crab. Loved the leeks in it. I added some white wine to it for additional flavor. I can see trying this with potatoes and sausage instead of the crab for another variation. I made it a second time with chopped bacon but I didn't feel it added much. I tossed in whatever veggies I had in the refrigerator and I used a different cheese. Still wonderful. I will save this as a base for many cream soups. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This was a delicious soup. If you like cheesey broccoli, cream of mushroom, and crab, you will really like this soup. I made quite a few changes to the preparation, so here goes: I sauted the veggies (used 10oz package frozen broccoli) in a separate saute pan and cooked off the liquid, I added butter to the soup pot and added flour, cooked for a couple of minutes, and then slowly added the broth while wisking, about five cups. I then added the veggies and pureed in the blender. Finally, back in the pot and slowly added about 1 1/2 cups swiss, and light cream. Then two cans of crab, salt and white pepper to taste. The crab flavor does get a little lost in this, next time I will think about subing some of the broth for some clam juice. Overall, very good, different, nice source of vegetables. Thanks for a great submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States