Broccoli Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Like most other people, I was surprised by how good this was. It's a nice variation on plain, old cornbread and a good way to get a few more veggies in. I used low-fat cottage cheese and used veggie oil instead of margarine (I went a little scant on the oil). It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Great recipe! My son is gluten intolerant so I used 2 T potato flour per cup with enough rice flour to make it a cup. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
The reason I gave this recipe 4 instead of 5 stars is because I changed it up a bit as suggested by one of the other reviewers (substitute 2 boxes of Jiffy corn muffin mix, use 5 eggs, 1 stick butter, everything else the same). It was really awesome! I am definitely going to make it again and again. It's a good thing my baby got so fussy during dinner or else I might have eaten half the pan myself. It was that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
I really liked this! Made it with whole wheat flour and olive oil instead of white flour and marg. I like the idea of adding Feta and or hot peppers to spice it up a little! Great for a healthy snack :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This was the perfect idea! My 2 year old hate broccoli and he ate three pieces! It's not really that sweet so I added some honey on top of my piece (the kids don't need any more sugar). We ate this with the "Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup" and it was the perfect meal. Super easy, super good! *Just make sure you toss the broccoli in the blender or processor so it's not all chunky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Buena Park, California, USA
Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made this a few days ago - we liked it - I used regular cornbread mix from a bag, but next time will use the Jiffy mix - I think the texture and flavor would improve. Cheese would be good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I substituted 2 boxes of Jiffy corn muffin mix, used 5 eggs (per friend's suggestion who cooks this frequently), 1.5 sticks butter, sauteed onions first so it wouldn't be so strong, everything else the same, got RAVE reviews..Next time I may cut the butter back to just 1 stick. 2 ppl asked for recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Sorry- we just didn't like it. The texture was too far off from that of traditional cornbread for our taste. I will try to tweak it though, so thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
I couldn't believe it. The bread was so moist and delicious, even tho I am not a fan of broccoli. I substituted home made fat free yogurt and a Tbs. of mozzarella instead of cottage cheese cause I can't eat cottage cheese, but inspit of the substitution, this cornbread was delicious. Thanks a ton for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Enh - I love broccoli & cottage cheese, but this cornbread had a rubbery texture and a somewhat bland flavor. It wasn't awful by any means, just disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States