Broccoli Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I made this recipe when company showed up at the last minute and I needed to scrape something together. Luckily I had everything on hand except the sunflower seeds, so I substituted with pine nuts. It was a HUGE hit. The seasoning mix was perfect--just enough brininess to offset the sweetness from the sugar. The textures from the grated carrots, celery, nuts, and noodles were great, as well. The nuts and celery were crunchy while the liquid gave the noodles and carrots just enough softness to provide some contrast. We served it with grilled salmon (marinated in a sweet Asian marinade) and the flavors complimented each other well. I will definitely make this dish again and recommend it as an easy veggie side that is different from the norm. Give it a shot, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Tastes so much better after it mellows for a day or so. I sort of followed the recipe as written, although followed others suggestions of using 1/2 white vinegar and 1/2 apple cider vinegar. I also used 1/2 green onions and 1/2 red onions, and threw in a bunch of slivered almonds for crunch. I only had oriental ramen (instead of chicken ramen) and it tasted great! I also chopped up the broccoli stems, in addition to the florets. The stems added extra crunch, while the florets make it seem like a salad. Overall, am amazing mixture that I'm sure to make again and again. It's a great way to incorporate extra vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Very good. Turns out using Hot & Spicy flavor ramen is also good. I halved the amount of dressing and still thought it was a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Really good! As others noted this is probably way too much dressing though. Either half the dressing or double the broccoli and carrots. Really good flavors though, nice combination of tangy, fresh, and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I made this but used Stevia, 2 packets equal 2 tab. I used 6 packets, I added roasted chicken and almonds. I love this, you can have it all ready, keep the dressing on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Shelton Richardson
Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
I have made this salad for a couple of years. I use the packaged broccoli cold slaw mix and unsalted peanuts in addition to this recipe. I also use less sugar and oil in the dressing. It has become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Arnoldsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I made it as per instructions. I just cut up a whole head of broccoli and did not use the slaw. I must say you really must marinate it overnight. Everything stays firm and not squishy but the oil seasoning doesn't begin to flavor the salad well until well after one hour. I initially felt that one cup of olive oil was too much but it really needs it. The oil is taken up by the vegetables and it's not oily at all. If u don't have sesame seeds on hand try slivered or sliced almonds. Either one works well. I thought this salad looked great but initially was not pleased but after marinating overnight it was quite delicious and pared very well with roasted chicken. Yum!! I will do it again just halve the recipe if u don't want a big bowl of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I made this recipe for labor day. I left out the sunflower seeds and also used apple cider vinegar as someone suggested. OH AND.....I made twice the amount of broccoli, only used 3 "stems" of green onion instead of 2 bunches but the same amount of vinaigrette. Everyone LOVED it! The ramen noodles weren't crunchy at all.I thought it was a little too sweet...that may have been the apple cider though. My husband said he thinks the sweetness offset the raw broccoli harsh taste. everyone asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rach LeBlanc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Halve the oil and it turns out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States