Broccoli Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Delicious! I am not a huge broccoli fan, but in this salad it was so good. I had to use fresh turkey because the butcher was out of chicken, but other than that followed the recipe. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Using broccoli is a wonderful and surprising addition to this nicely balanced recipe; an ingredient I would not have thought of. I might add a scant amount of tarragon to up the "gourmet" factor; using tarragon vinegar is another possibility. You can use alternate ingredients like walnuts (which I used), currants instead of raisins, or cubed turkey instead of chicken with excellent results. I also cut the raisins. Overall, a very versatile recipe which allows for variants. A keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This so good with and without the chicken. I like it becuase I can eat it a couple of days as I am not a fan of leftovers that last for a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Yum! Healthy and hearty. I, too, added turkey bacon and rice vinegar instead of red wine. I added salt and pepper and to make it more into a meal, I added cooked and cooled pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Very good. I've made this a couple of times. Really very tasty. Try it by the book to start with, then adjust to taste. I made the mistake the first time through thinking I knew better and upped the raisins and bacon quite a bit because I like both of those flavors, but found the raisins to then be too much of a sweet power. Also definitely recommend letting it sit overnight to let the flavors meld. I personally wasn't crazy about the red wine vinegar flavor, so I subbed it out for some cider vinegar the next time through. Definitely a keeper -- and a great excuse to buy those sunflower seeds, which I've been for crunch on my green salads every since. Mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYBEE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This was excellent! Just like what you pay $10 for a tiny little container of at Byerly's - and I made a huge bowl of it! I used Helman's Light Mayo, no sunflower seeds (just didn't have any), Craisins, and Bacos in mine. I loved it. My 4 year old said he loved it too. I asked him what he liked about it and he said "EVERYTHIG". Too cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raelee's recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
LOVE THIS! If i make a big batch to last all week I will add the golden raisens and sunflower kernals when i dish up... to keep the kernal's crunch and to keep the chew in the raisen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by plentygood9

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I added elbow macaroni to this to make a complete meal. I only gave it 4 stars because I made changes in addition to the pasta. I also substituted the raisins for diced green apples (I don't like raisins). This helped add a little tartness. I also doubled the sauce as well as used cider vinegar instead of the red wine and added some shredded mild cheddar. This is now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORINNE8

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
Great! I made this to take to work for lunch and it was as good the second day as it was the first. This was also a nice and easy recipe to double (as well as a big hit) when the girls came to lunch one Saturday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
yum. very simple and hearty. i made this without red onion, bacon or sunflower kernels. I don't like the first and didn't have the last two. I added extra broccoli and used half mayo, half plain yogurt (tangy), a little less sugar, cider vinegar and craisins. And I added a couple walnuts. Ok, its not the same recipe anymore but thanks for the framework. Hubby microwaved his serving and thought it was better that way - I ate it cold in a warm pita pocket.. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States