Broccoli Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
yum. very simple and hearty. i made this without red onion, bacon or sunflower kernels. I don't like the first and didn't have the last two. I added extra broccoli and used half mayo, half plain yogurt (tangy), a little less sugar, cider vinegar and craisins. And I added a couple walnuts. Ok, its not the same recipe anymore but thanks for the framework. Hubby microwaved his serving and thought it was better that way - I ate it cold in a warm pita pocket.. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
SO YUMMY!!! I loved this dish so much. I made it twice in one week! I made it for my husband when he got home from a trip and he liked it also. I can't wait to make it again. It was full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Very good. I've made this a couple of times. Really very tasty. Try it by the book to start with, then adjust to taste. I made the mistake the first time through thinking I knew better and upped the raisins and bacon quite a bit because I like both of those flavors, but found the raisins to then be too much of a sweet power. Also definitely recommend letting it sit overnight to let the flavors meld. I personally wasn't crazy about the red wine vinegar flavor, so I subbed it out for some cider vinegar the next time through. Definitely a keeper -- and a great excuse to buy those sunflower seeds, which I've been for crunch on my green salads every since. Mmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYBEE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
This was very tasty and easy to whip up. It was even better after a night in the fridge. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squrlcraft

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Great recipe - next time i will cut back on the amount of chicken and increase the amount of broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I really liked the mayo sauce for this salad. Very creamy but not overpowering. I substituted the sunflower kernals for almond slivers and skipped the bacon (we don't eat bacon) and the recipe was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
So I changed this TOTALLY based on what I had on hand except made the dressing as written and it was excellent! I used a 6oz. package of the pre-cooked grilled chicken strips, celery instead of broccoli, omitted onion, no sunflower seeds, craisins instead of raisins and real bacon pieces. It's definitely the dressing that makes it. I will make again and again. Can't wait to try it as written too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I like to use dried cranberries instead of raisins - they go well with the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Using broccoli is a wonderful and surprising addition to this nicely balanced recipe; an ingredient I would not have thought of. I might add a scant amount of tarragon to up the "gourmet" factor; using tarragon vinegar is another possibility. You can use alternate ingredients like walnuts (which I used), currants instead of raisins, or cubed turkey instead of chicken with excellent results. I also cut the raisins. Overall, a very versatile recipe which allows for variants. A keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This was excellent! Just like what you pay $10 for a tiny little container of at Byerly's - and I made a huge bowl of it! I used Helman's Light Mayo, no sunflower seeds (just didn't have any), Craisins, and Bacos in mine. I loved it. My 4 year old said he loved it too. I asked him what he liked about it and he said "EVERYTHIG". Too cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raelee's recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States