Broccoli Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
This recipe was great! I made some additions: 1/2 cup sour cream, 1/2 cup cheese extra for the filling, marjoram, Mrs. Dash Table Blend, garlic powder, lemon garlic, 1/2 cup of onions that I sauteed with the chicken. I steamed the broccoli. Once chicken and broccoli were done, I mixed EVERYTHING together, poured in 8 x 8 baking dish. I sprinkled cheese (however much you want)on top and doubled the bread crumb mixture. I used cream of chicken soup instead of cream of broccoli. This was soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
763 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
Well, after giving this recipe a second chance...I LOVED IT. Per previous reviews, I added dashes of lemon pepper seasoning, season salt and a dash of garlic powder while coooking the chicken. I also added a little more broccoli and a little more bread crumbs than what the recipe calls for. I'm glad I didn't give up on this one, it was worth it. Next time, I'm going to have to double the recipe so that everyone gets their fill. This recipe is worth trying...with some minor modifications. SOOO cheesy and broccoli! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
446 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This was very good after I made some changes based on other reviews. I steamed a 14 oz. bag of frozen broccoli florets instead of fresh. My chicken was well seasoned when I boiled it. I used the 98% FF soup. I added about 1/2+ cup sour cream, chicken boullion granules, salt, pepper, garlic powder. I put at least 1/2 cup cheese in the casserole itself then another 1/2 cup on top. I ended up just stirring the broccoli, chicken, cheese and soup mixture all up together before putting it in the dish. I used buttered Ritz crackers on top. It was yummy and still very easy and fast since I keep chopped, cooked chicken in the freezer all the time. I'll make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARMY WIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I'm new to the site and a little confused as to the rating system. from what I can see, out of 50 reviews, 35 of them, or 70%, are for a DIFFERENT RECIPE that vaguely resembles the one that is published. Also, if you read the ones that actually rate this recipe, AS WRITTEN, it ends up getting about 2 3/4 stars. I'm glad that people get to rate their own creations (most of which are 5's. What a shock ;-)), but this rating system is highly suspect, especially when I'm looking for good, nutritious food to feed my gang. Rate me disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
I have to double this recipe each time I make it so we can have seconds, and leftovers! This is the only way I can get my 17 month old son to eat broccoli. I've never tried this with cream of broccoli soup, but use cream of mushroom instead. I mix the soup, milk, black pepper, 1/2 tsp corriander, and 1 tsp garlic powder in a large bowl. Then throw in the chicken, broccoli and some cheese to coat. I use more chicken and cheese than called for, use crushed butter crackers instead of bread crumbs, and cook in a 9x13 dish. Thanks Terry!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
This was a good place to start, but as written very bland. Made a quick fix to the sauce by adding white wine, lite mayo, lite sour cream, curry, garlic and onion powders and black pepper. Topped with fresh buttered bread crumbs and some parm. True comfort food and thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I definitely wanted to alter this recipe to add more flavor, because as-is, it looked like it was missing a lot. I used Campbell's Chicken with Herbs soup intead of Cream of Broccoli, and added about 1/2 cup (maybe a little more) of sour cream, about a tablespoon of Mrs. Dash Original, about a tablespoon of McCormick Lemon & Herb Seasoning and about a teaspoon of poultry seasoning. Per another review, I also added cheddar to the sauce and doubled the bread crumb mixture. I served it over rice. PERFECT! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Update: You can use Healthy Request Soups & 2% milk cheeses as a great alternative. This recipe is low fat/cal/carb as it is... but these changes are even better. I noticed no change in taste. Oh, and I made this today without baking it & have it in my frig for dinner later in the week. It's a great make-ahead dinner that bakes off beautifully. This is such a basic recipe, there are so many ways to enhance it depending on your tastes. I add 2 tbsp of curry (and I don't even LIKE curry) and use mayo instead of the milk. It's a great dish served over rice, my mother has made it for years and it's always been a family favorite. You can use frozen broccoli in a pinch, or freshly steamed is even better. As for the soup... I use whatever flavor I have in my cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
Loved it! I made it a second time and added more broccoli and the 1/2 cup sour cream and cheese as a another emember suggested and enjoyed it even more. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Yummmmmm this is so delicious!!! I pan sauteed the chicken (which I seasoned with garlic powder, lemon pepper, and black pepper) with a whole onion in some olive oil. Once the onions caramelized and the chicken began to brown, I added my frozen broccoli to the skillet, reduced the heat and covered to let the veggies steam. After mixing together the soup and milk, I just poured it directly into the skillet, as well as the cheese. Once I let all of those flavors steep for a while, I put it all into a baking dish, topped with bread crumbs and then baked uncovered. Yep. This one's a keeper for life!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nova Fleming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 880) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States