Broccoli Chicken Divan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
We liked this casserole a lot. I read the negative reviews on it and decided to try it anyway. I think the negative folks expected it to be more than it was. Face it, it is simply chicken, broccoli and cheese. That is it. It is not supposed to be the best dinner ever... I stuck to the basic recipe and we enjoyed it as a nice hot lunch. Easy leftovers, too. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND you use FRESH broccoli. The frozen stuff is most likely what made others complain of it being too watery or bland. AND, do NOT over cook the broccoli before you add it to the casserole dish or it will be mushy, as another reviewer complained. The second time I added canned mushrooms, substituted broccoli soup for half cream of chicken and half sour cream, and left out the milk. To make it a 100% no-carb dish I will only use sour cream, heavy cream and Chardonnay white wine next time. An easy make-ahead dinner! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Been looking for a go to Chicken Divan recipe for years, tried many from standard cook books but this is the best, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinder92

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
It was okay but very bland. Next time I try it I will add additional spices to help it along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Good base recipe. I spiced it up by adding salt, pepper, and garlic salt on top on the broccoli and chicken. Also added extra cheese, 1 cup instead of 1/2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This was a fantastic recipe! My husband loved it so much, he made me post a review! I followed others recommendations and seasoned the chicken with lemon pepper, garlic powder and seasoning salt. I was out of milk and it was a rainy night so I didn't want to go out to the store, so I melted cream cheese and added enough water to make it milk consistency. Yummy-definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I'm giving this three stars because I altered it a bit to add more flavor. I sauteed some onions in olive oil, then threw in the chicken with 2 cloves minced garlic. I also didn't have any cream of mushroom soup, so I made my own cream soup base. Finally, I added a little bit of white wine to the soup & milk mixture. Not our favorite meal, but good and wholesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lifes_1_journey
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Pretty good recipe. The chicken is what makes it or breaks it, not the cream of broccoli, so make sure it's well spiced!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I have made this so many times and its a favorite of family and friends. I serve it over yellow rice. Ultimate comfort food. The only change I make now is I make my own cream soup from this site. Much less sodium. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rehoboth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Tasty and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robzymuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Easy and delicious. Used microwave broccoli and worked fine. Serve w egg noodles
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 860) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States