Broccoli Chicken Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
DELICIOUS! **if you don't have curry: 1/4 tsp cumin + 1/4 tsp paprika (or chili powder) works just as well!** This is now my favorite comfort food!! The ONLY thing I change is I do NOT add the entire soup/mayo mix, I use ALL BUT 3/4 cup. That way it doesn't turn out so soupy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
After starting this, I realized my jar of mayo had been expired for a year. Ekk...mayo is kinda gross already. I had a little bit sour cream and some mango greek yogurt, so I decided to embrace the curry part of this recipe and added the mango greek yogurt. I also added some garlic powder, onion powder, more curry, and cayenne. It actually went well! I think the recipe as is would have been tasty as as--I just had to improvise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I remember tasting a dish very similar and I like it! I made the suggested changes of 1/2 cup mayonnaise and the Ritz crackers. I used the Trader Joes frozen broccoli and steamed it in the microwave before mixing and baking the dish. The end result was good, although 1 hour covered in Pyrex at 350 produced crispy cheese and toasted cracker crumbs. Next time, I will reduce the oven time and maybe remove the crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This is a wonderful dish to make for any occasion and makes wonderful left-overs. The curry powder is a plus. I cook chicken tenders and then cube them just to make it a little quicker. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajoshymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corryton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Really tasty recipe! I made a couple of changes: First, I cooked the chicken most of the way in a pan, just so the centers were still a little pink. It was still a tiny bit on the dry side after baking, so I'm glad I didn't cook it thoroughly beforehand. I also used fresh broccoli, which I steamed lightly for just a few minutes beforehand and found it to be very yummy. I messed up and only bought 1 can of cream of chicken soup so I added a can of cream of broccoli (still really good, but next time I think I'll use cream of celery as someone suggested), and added a crushed cube of chicken boullion for extra flavor. YUM! I also doubled the curry as some of the previous reviewers said, and I mixed all of the ingredients together rather than layering. I also mixed 1 cup of the cheese in with the rest of the ingredients, and sprinkled about 1 and 1/2 cups of cheese on top. I served it over white rice and it was awesome! This is definitely going into my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This is good. I increased the curry to 1 tablespoon and will probably increase it more next time (we love curry). I didn't have two cans to cream of chicken so I used 1 can of cream of chicken and 1 can of cream of celery. Any "cream of" soups would work well with this. I also didn't have Ritz crackers, so instead I melted butter and mixed in plain bread crumbs and put it on top for the crunchy topping, which worked well. This is a good recipe to have since I usually have all of these ingredients on hand. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This was awesome! The only variations were, I used 1 can of cream of mushroom and 1 can cream of chicken. I also only used 12 oz of fresh broccoli instead of 16 oz. The dish looked so full after just the 12oz bag so I stopped there. It was perfect! This was a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I've been making this casserole for years and it's great. I'm actually making it for dinner right now! The only difference in my recipe is that I use 1 cream of chicken & 1 cream of celery soup and miracle whip instead of mayonnaise. Believe me, it's wonderful. If you're going to make this, don't leave out the curry (or the mayo). That's what makes this recipe what it is! If you're only using cream of chicken soup & leaving out everything else, then you're just making chicken with soup on top! I don't put cheese on top though, I hate it when recipes that have no cheese in them are topped with cheese. Maybe it's just me, but... Someone mentioned this being too soupy. I serve mine over mashed potatoes, but you can also add a thin layer of instant rice before pouring the soup mixture on and it will soak up some of the sauce and make it a meal in one! EDIT: forgot to mention that it is way better to use fresh broccoli that has been steamed a little first, or at least use frozen broccoli florets. the frozen chopped broccoli is nothing but hard nasty pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I love curry! This is a great dish...I prefer to use quite a bit more curry...at least a teaspoon..maybe even a tablespoon full. It is delicious alone or on top of rice. My mom made this when I was growing up and I'm happy to have found the identical recipe! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This tasted very good, but was a little bit too soupy. I'll try to fix it the next time I make it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States