Broccoli Chicken Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
The only change I made to this recipe was to use eggless mayonaise. It goes well with rice. The tang of the lemon juice and the curry make this the special dish that it is. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Something new for me and my family. I added more curry and lemon juice than called for. I think next time I'll leave the lemon juice at what the recipe calls for. I also substituted one can of soup with 1 cup sour cream. delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I LOVED the curry in this recipe. Since I don't eat meat, I added a package of morning star farms "chicken" strips to a package of frozen broccoli, made sure to cook both, and drained the broccoli of any additional water. I used 3 tsp curry powder, 1 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp lemon pepper, a dash of salt and lemon juice and 1/2 can fat free half and half in low fat cream of mushroom soup, brought those to a boil, poured over the broccoli and chicken, then topped with 1 cup cheese on top - it was a hit! The curry added just the right amount of jazz - I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This recipe is deceptively simple for how delicious it is. My husband could not stop raving about this being the best chicken broccoli casserole ever. I think it is the mayo, lemon juice and curry that make it special. I only had 2 cans of soup so I adjusted the lemon juice to 2T, and I used frozen chopped broccoli. I served this over couscous and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
very good i didnt cook the broclie or chicken first just baked it longer and added cream of mushrom to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
this had a good flavor. I cut this recipe in half and it was way too saucy for my taste so I would cut down the soup by at least one or/and add some more chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOKORBA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
The curry really does wonders! I boiled and shredded my chicken and steamed my broccoli using my rice cooker. I served the creamy broccoli chicken casserole on a delicious bed of steamed rice. I put in a bit more curry and lemon juice and just used the kroger brand of cream of chicken soup. It was creamy and delicious with an amazing flavor, but without the rice it might have been too rich. Great recipe and I like that there aren't too many ingredients involved! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassagrass
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Great casserole, even better the next day. I added sauteed mushrooms & onions and substituted Swiss cheese. I took the other's advice and cut back on the soup. The first night we served it over fettucini and the second night found it makes a great 'stuffer' for baked potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
This was yummy! I couldn't find my own recipe that my mom always made while I was growning up so I decided to try this one as that it reminded me of my sister-in-law's recipe which is really good. I'll keep using this recipe but I will definately cut back on the lemon juice. The lemon flavor is a little over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abigail Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Like another user said, this is the Chicken Divan I on which I grew up. With my changes (the same or similar to others) this dish is truly PERFECT! First, only use 2 cans of cream of chicken soup, with 1 C of sour cream, and 1 C of mayonaise. I added 3 t of curry (I simply can not imagine less) as well, and doubled the lemon juice. As for the chicken, I boil then debone an entire chicken, then shred all meat but the breast, which I save for other recipes. I also add a can of chopped, water chestnuts. If you have not tried this addition, some people say it makes the dish! Per another user's recommendation, I layered all of this over 4 cups of cooked, white rice. This just puts it over the top, as the rice is more flavorful than if served over the rice cooked separately. On top, I do a layer of buttered breadcrumbs with a light coating of Parmesan cheese. I suppose my recipe looks much different than this original now that I see all of my changes, but I will post this here in hopes it will be a blessing to someone who is wanting to make the most scrumptious dish of broccoli chicken casserole they have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States