Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
After trying a different recipe for this using flour, I decided to go the cornstarch route. I used 32 oz of chicken broth instead of the recommended amount, used a can of cheese soup instead of the cubed processed cheese, used half the milk and half of the cornstarch. I dissolved the cornstarch in the milk and ommitted the water. It was marvelous! Next time I will use two cans of cheese soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This soup recipe is awesome! I've made it two years in a row for a Halloween party. This year I made a double batch in two large crockpots and they were scraped clean! I only made a couple changes.... Instead of frozen broccoli I used 4-5 fresh bunches of broccoli, I like to use the florets and cut away the stems. It really cooks down so when in doubt use more. I used a full 1 pound box of Velvetta, and instead of water I reserve a cup of chicken broth to wisk cornstarch into for thickening. I also use Vitamin D organic whole milk because it's what we use. Everybody RAVES about this soup and it's SO easy to make. Be sure to prep/cut up all your ingredients before you start because stirring frequently is important to avoid scalding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This soup is awesome!!! Only thing I did different was double the cheese. Healthy, I know. Ha! Oh, and added a pound of bowtie pasta. So stinking good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I used some other reviews alterations, and some of my own. I add chicken to the recipe. When cooking the onions, I add the chicken-cook and cube-then follow the instructions. I also add minced garlic while cooking the chicken. instead of milk, I use half & half. I also use a reserved cup of the broth with the cornstarch. At the end add a bag of shredded pepperjack cheese as well. The entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Doubled the cheese, doubled the garlic....perfection
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Super easy and is sooo yummy!! I've made it 3x in 2 weeks so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNI932000
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
More like 24 servings. There's soooo much soup! Doubling the broccoli was a must. But that velvetta for me was a mistake. I won't be using that next time. Personally I don't like the flavor of the velvetta. I'll be using mild cheddar cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This was really good and very simple I had broc. stems and a few florets that I saved from a fresh bunch. I chopped the broccoli into a little more than 1/4" pieces then boiled them with the melted butter and onion and chicken stock. Instead of garlic powder I used garlic salt with parsley because I used unsalted butter. The rest was the same ...it was so aromatic my two year old came over and asked to have some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Best soup I every made. Very tasty. I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen. I put the some of the broccoli in the food processor when cooked then added to the soup again to finish. This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Didn't change anything and we loved it! This is a keeper and we will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Liesman Kyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,756) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States