Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
5 stars after a few changes, but a great starter recipe!! Most of my changes were only because of what I had on hand. I had a bunch of homemade turkey broth after Thanksgiving so instead of the cans of chicken broth I used my turkey broth. I did not have cornstarch or even normal flour so I used a whole wheat flour. And I mixed up reading the water and milk and added one cup of milk and no water but without the cornstarch I think that it was fine. After the soup was done, I thought it still lacked flavor so I added some pre-cooked bacon strips cut into little pieces and some smoked provolone cheese and a handful of regular cheddar. And salt. After these changes it was perfect. The kids ate it right up, they loved it. I think if I would have used canned broth the soup would have been more flavorful than my homemade turkey broth, so that was probably part of it. But being a cheese lover I think in the future I will experiment with some other cheeses as well. I think the smoked provolone and bacon really added a good flavor to this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I didn't change anthing and it was great. Very easy to make and husband loved it. Will be make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Flavor is good but it definitely is too thin for my tastes. I stuck to the recipe except for when I had to deviate. I used fresh broccoli (what I had) and used 2 stalks chopped which equaled 4 cups. Next time, I would add more. I also only used 1/3 cup of corn starch because that was all I had. I tried to make up for this by not diluting in water. So some of the thinness is due to that. I will cut down on the chicken broth next time to see if that helps and maybe do half processed and half cheddar combination. Still, good flavor and now I can adjust to my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Loved it!! Super easy, fast, and a family favorite from now on. Everyone thought I was a great cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This is a no fail recipe. My soup turned out just as I expected. Undoubtedly, this soup is fine as is; but, I added cubed new potatoes and chopped chicken to mimic one of my favorite Campbell's Chunky recipes. I saved this to my recipe box, and will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Similar to what others had said, I made sure to double the broccoli and cheese. Perfection!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This was very good. I followed the suggestions of previous reviews and used 2lbs of cheese, used fresh broccoli and garlic. I reserved 1/2 can of broth to combine the cornstarch with and omitted the water. Very good and thank you for the suggestions! Next time I may also use some cheddar and more broccoli. This was super easy to make as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Original recipe is good but a few modifications make it great! First, replace 1/4 cup of butter with 1/4 cup of white wine to the onion base. Double the amount of broccoli and add 1/2 cup of matchstick carrots. Replace 1/4 lb. of processed cheese with 8 oz. smoked Gouda. Instead of milk, use heavy cream. Finally, after all the ingredients are in, put half the soup in a large heat proof bowl and purée with a stick blender then return to the pot. (You could do this in a regular blender as well) I don't have to tell you this in not healthy at all but it sure is delicious, rich, and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Way too much chicken broth had to add A LOT more cheese. Better recipes out there
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
After I made the soup I placed it in the crock pot for 5 hours to make the broccoli really tender. I did not add corn starch until about a half hour before we ate it. Reason being I didn't know I was out of corn starch, and had to run to the store and get some. It did not make a difference, it thickened up just great! Best Broccoli cheese recipe I have found. My picky husband said it was the best he has ever had. I added some ground pepper, it just felt strange not to put it in there, so I did. Besides that, I didn't adjust the recipe and it was AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer13
Home Town: Norton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,765) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States