Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
After trying a different recipe for this using flour, I decided to go the cornstarch route. I used 32 oz of chicken broth instead of the recommended amount, used a can of cheese soup instead of the cubed processed cheese, used half the milk and half of the cornstarch. I dissolved the cornstarch in the milk and ommitted the water. It was marvelous! Next time I will use two cans of cheese soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This soup recipe is awesome! I've made it two years in a row for a Halloween party. This year I made a double batch in two large crockpots and they were scraped clean! I only made a couple changes.... Instead of frozen broccoli I used 4-5 fresh bunches of broccoli, I like to use the florets and cut away the stems. It really cooks down so when in doubt use more. I used a full 1 pound box of Velvetta, and instead of water I reserve a cup of chicken broth to wisk cornstarch into for thickening. I also use Vitamin D organic whole milk because it's what we use. Everybody RAVES about this soup and it's SO easy to make. Be sure to prep/cut up all your ingredients before you start because stirring frequently is important to avoid scalding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
This soup is awesome!!! Only thing I did different was double the cheese. Healthy, I know. Ha! Oh, and added a pound of bowtie pasta. So stinking good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I used some other reviews alterations, and some of my own. I add chicken to the recipe. When cooking the onions, I add the chicken-cook and cube-then follow the instructions. I also add minced garlic while cooking the chicken. instead of milk, I use half & half. I also use a reserved cup of the broth with the cornstarch. At the end add a bag of shredded pepperjack cheese as well. The entire family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Doubled the cheese, doubled the garlic....perfection
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Super easy and is sooo yummy!! I've made it 3x in 2 weeks so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNI932000
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
More like 24 servings. There's soooo much soup! Doubling the broccoli was a must. But that velvetta for me was a mistake. I won't be using that next time. Personally I don't like the flavor of the velvetta. I'll be using mild cheddar cheese next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This was really good and very simple I had broc. stems and a few florets that I saved from a fresh bunch. I chopped the broccoli into a little more than 1/4" pieces then boiled them with the melted butter and onion and chicken stock. Instead of garlic powder I used garlic salt with parsley because I used unsalted butter. The rest was the same ...it was so aromatic my two year old came over and asked to have some!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Best soup I every made. Very tasty. I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen. I put the some of the broccoli in the food processor when cooked then added to the soup again to finish. This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Didn't change anything and we loved it! This is a keeper and we will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Liesman Kyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,696) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States