Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I basically used Serena's alterations. Added some grated carrots, used fresh broccoli as well as the leftover bags of frozen broccoli I had around. Mixed the corn starch into the half and half. added cheese at the end. Used anykind of orange cheese I had on hand. Combo of Mississippi State Edam Cheese and sharp cheddar. It was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This recipe was excellent! I did replace the milk with half n half and I also used a little extra broccoli. I added salt, pepper, onion powder and garlic powder. I poured the half n half into a sauce pot and melted the cheese in there and then poured the entire mixture into the simmering broccoli. Worked like a charm. Took a hand blender to it right before serving! Will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I did add 1 1/2 cups potatoes and about 1/2 cup thinly sliced carrots and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Sullivan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Great soup! I added some sautéed mushrooms which even my mushroom hating husband enjoyed and I used fresh steamed broccoli instead of frozen, because that was what I had. This made a TON of soup though! We had no hope of finishing this before it went bad, so I put half of the finished soup in a freezer bag, and hoped it would reheat well. It was frozen for about 2 weeks before I pulled it out. I let the soup defrost on the counter all day so it was just a little bit slushy when dinner time rolled around. I emptied the whole bag into my pot and heated it slowly over medium low heat, stirring frequently to help the separated soup mix back together. By the time it was done, the soup had been heated very thoroughly, and you never would have known it had been frozen! I'm definitely going to add this to my list of freezer meals for when I have my second baby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Olson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
As others before me, I too, made some changes to this basic recipe. I substituted 2 cans of cream of chicken soup for water and milk and also flour for corn starch. Also added shredded carrots and chopped green bell pepper and used 1/2 a loaf of Velveeta and shredded mild cheddar. If you like a chunky soup leave it as is. If you prefer a creamier soup, just put 1/2 of the soup in a blender and then combine. This turned out better than expected. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abcbalzer
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This soup was delicious! The aroma while cooking was so yummy! My family thoroughly enjoyed this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Very good. I added chicken bouillon granules. Next time I'll add extra broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This was delicious and souper :) fast weeknight meal. It's was also great for leftovers the next day! The only thing I would recommend is to use broccoli floweretts. Yummy-Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Awesome soup! Used bouillon cubes and water instead of broth because I was out and I used a few cloves of garlic instead of garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I followed the Recipe exactly and the only thing that needed changing was the amount of corn starch that was called for, it was way too much! It made the soup too thick. I had to add 4 cups of milk to thin it back out. But once it was to the right concistency it taste great! Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,651) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States