Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Everyone who tried it loved this soup! I normally wouldn't rate a recipe after making it with changes, but I really think this soup would have been wonderful as written...my family just loves chunkier soup and extra cheese! I sautéed fresh garlic with the onion, and omitted the cup of water and just reserved a cup of the broth until the end. I also used a total of 32 ounces of cheese...3/4 of a large block of velveeta and some sharp cheddar to make up the difference! Used half and half instead of milk just because I had it on hand. Great base recipe and wonderful taste, thank you Karin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by llgrotts
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Good soup base, I cooked a veggie mix ahead of time and then added in. This would remedy the problem of too thin a soup. Lastly, I used cream as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I loved this recipe, very basic and easy and quick in my opinion. I have to admit I made some changes, I added Kraft Singles Slices for the cheese instead because that's what I had on hand. I also added salt, pepper, thyme and rosemary to taste. I also threw it in the blender after it was all cooked, then I returned the pureed soup to the pot and added some small chunks of ham. Hubby loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I doubled the cheese and it was thicker then Elmer's Glue. The cheese was the only thing I could taste. I could have saved myself the trouble by melting a block of cheese and serving it for dinner. I DO think doubling the broccoli and substituting milk with half and half is a good idea though. Other than that, I've made this several times for my family and there's always nothing left. DELICIOUS and perfect for a frosty day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sulphur, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I thought it was a very good recipe but there is definitely something missing that would make this soup fantastic. I may add carrots and use mild cheese instead of medium. Just a little to strong on the cheese flavor but that was my mistake. Overall I would definitely recommend this soup as a base to add all kinds of different things to your soup. It was yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This soup is okay, but a little blase for me...however, you can use it as a good base or starting point for something a bit more flavorful. I pretty much made it as written since I didn't have any half and half or other cheeses at home and was just trying to make something quick. However, just the Velveeta definitely doesn't do it for me and I think I'll either add more Velveeta next time or add some grated sharp cheddar cheese like other cooks have suggested. I used my own homemade chicken broth, but I like the idea of adding chunks of chicken to it next time. I also used fresh broccoli which I think really helps, and I added salt and black pepper to taste, but it's still lacking some kind of seasoning. This is why I think the sharp cheddar or possibly even some grated parmesean might help next time. Also, I made half the milk evaporated milk and the other half 2%...I will definitely use half and half or cream next time. I agree with other users to skip the last cup of water and just whisk corn starch into a cup of the hot soup instead...the soup is already too thin and kind of watery tasting without needing to add more broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
amazing soup! my kids don't really care for soups but they all get excited when they see this on the stove. always a hit in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Made this for a girl's night get-together and we all LOVED it!! There are only three of us, so I cut the recipe in half. Because I had fresh broccoli from the farmers market, I steamed it and then pulsed it in the food processor. Also used Queso Blanco processed cheese since that is what I had on hand. One of the girls said her mom used to make it with the yellow processed cheese, but she liked the white cheese better! This recipe is a "keeper." Just wish DH liked broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Exactly what I was craving! Just like my favorite sandwich shop. Put it in homemade sourdough bread bowls and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah DeRoch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was a great base for broccoli cheese soup. I made some adjusments. I added more cheeses like pepper jack , sharp cheeder, 1/3 cup of Real Beacon bits and fresh broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States