Broccoli Cheese Soup VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Really simple recipe! I added cheese to the top when serving. I also sweated down fresh chopped onion before adding the other ingredients. I will definitely keep this in the cool weather bag for those chilly days to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Graham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
AMAZING soup, and definitely a very easy recipe. I only changed one thing; I followed a previous commenter's suggestion (littleaudrey), and used fresh onion instead of minced, and while I was cooking the onion I added some garlic. I did not have any half and half on hand (discovered this after I had started...ooops), so I used 1 1/2 cups of 2 % milk, with 2 TBSPN's each of corn starch and flour whisked into it. It still came out with a nice, smooth, creamy consistency. (I did reduce the 1/2 cup of flour suggested, to 1/4 cup, because I was afraid it would be too much with the milk mixture). This soup was delicious, and I will definitely be making it over and over again. I suggest having french bread slices with some butter as a side....SO good dipped into the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This is such wonderful soup! I tend to use lots more cheese than the recipe calls for and barely cook the broccoli because I hate mushy vegetables. Really good recipe that calls for natural cheese, not the processed stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. A waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
It was ok. It needed something. I followed it step by step. The consistency was good but it was lacking in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
yum yum yum!!! I used a hand blender to chop up the broccoli a little finer. I also made a 3 cheese blend with some leftover white chedar & parmasean
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
tHIS WAS GREAT SOUP!! IT'S A KEEPER THANKS MARY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I've made this several times. Double the cheese. Use fresh finely diced onion instead of dry flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This recipe is a good starting point but I wouldn't have liked it if I'd stopped where the recipe instructions did! It needs pureed to meet my expectations of broccoli cheese soup. To include that step, I added the broccoli to the broth/flour mixture but waited to add the cream and the cheese. Once the broccoli was tender, I scooped it into my blender with a slotted spoon and added some of the liquid and zipped it up until smooth and returned it to my pan. Then I added the cream and cheese. I agree with those who say it needs more cheese, I added probably double the amount (until I could taste it in the soup). Depending on your broth, you will definitely need to add salt as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Great recipe! I made a few changes - I took a tip from the other comments and added more cheese and instead of onion flakes I sauted a chopped medium onion with a half a clove of garlic and a little water before adding the chicken broth (which I allowed to simmer with just the onions garlic and a little pepper for a little while to soften the onions) - I Love that this recipe called for REAL cheddar not "processed cheese product", and fresh broccoli! I used a mild cheddar but I probably should have mixed it with a sharper cheddar, even so the flavor was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oswego, New York, USA
Living In: Lyons, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States