Broccoli Cheese Soup IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
all in all a pretty good base recipe. I tweaked it a bit though. I started by using more broccoli than it called for, ( i used 16 oz snd it still wasn't enough ) and i pre-cooked it. I than put about 3/4 of it in the blender for a creamier texture. I also used fat free cream cheese and 2% velveeta, it tasted no different just made me feel a little healthier. I also added lots of cajun seasoning blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Yum yum ! This soup was delicious and so filling! We loved it! I microwaved the frozen broccoli for a minute before putting it into the soup mixture to soften it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This was good, but I expected better-the broccoli didn't get totally cooked so it was crunchy- next time I will either let it thaw or cook it in the microwave first. The cream cheese is very good, it gives it a creamy taste & the onion gave it a little bit of sweetness-I'm sure with a little tweaking to our liking it will be awesome. Thanks for a great basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Easy and it tastes GREAT!! Thanks for the recipe. But, I dont recommend using cheap cream cheese..kinda makes it lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I have been searching for a good Broccoli Cheese soup and I have finally found it. I did add a little bit more milk and some chicken stock because I like mine a little more thin. And I also added garlic powder as others had done. Very good. I cooked some rice and poured the soup on top for my kids so it was easier for them to eat. My son could not get enough of it. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
My family loved this soup! I added garlic pepper to it for a little extra taste. Even my picky 4 year old asked for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
VERY VERY Cheesy! Good rich soup. Made enough for 4 meal size portions. I loved the cream cheese idea. My cream cheese was a little lumpy at first (yes I did use good cream cheese) but once the process cheese was melted in, it was smooth as can be. I might add some chicken stock next time to thin it out, because it was very rich. Awesome for soup though for fellow cheese lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGatorWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
This was the best soup I have ever fixed - my husband really enjoyed it and suggested I pass it along to other family members. I added just a little garlic powder to the pot while it was heating thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Made this for Christmas Eve and there was nothing left, even the toddlers gobbled it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This is a good recipe. However, I added about 5 shakes of tabasco and it gave the soup a nice warm flavor and boosted the flavor of the cheese. I cubed the velveeta before putting it in and it melted very fast, but I did have my temperature up too high for a small part of the melting process because I found that the Velvetta scorched a little and left browned pieces. They taste the same, just look different in the soup. I did use more broccoli than called for, I found 16oz to be perfect for broccoli in every bite. Overall this is a good recipe, I enjoied it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States