Broccoli Cheese Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Delicious!!!! I changed the recipe so it served 4. I didn't have cottage cheese on hand and my ricotta had gone bad. I used half sour cream and half cream cheese. I also added 3/4 c frozen spinach and a handful of corn for more veggies. The top and sides turned deliciously crunchy! My boyfriend finished the entire dish off!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yeongmee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Excellent, except that I need spice in my life, so I added: 1 finely chopped green chili; 1 cup shredded reduced fat cheddar. I also served this with Herdez canned red salsa for a zesty, zangy winter night meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Argh, I accidentally hit return before I was done with my last review. I just wanted to add that the broccoli cornbread recipe on the official "Jiffy" web site calls for TWO boxes of their cornbread mix, not one. Otherwise, their recipe is almost identical to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Very good and easy to make. I used a package of jiffy. Came out firm, and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
It was sooo good! I used Jiffy corn muffin mix instead of the cornmeal and it went off without a hitch! Everyone loved it! I recommend everyone tries this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Patuxent River, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Oh! Soooo Good! Hot or Room Tmep, goes with anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
Better with fresh cooked broccoli. I don't use onion. My 12-yr-old loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
I'm sorry to say I was disappointed by this recipe. I thought it sounded great, especially when I was reading all the wonderful reviews which were so complimentary. I followed the recipe nearly exactly (except that instead of the self rising cornmeal, which I hadn't heard of either, I used the previous reviewers' suggestions of cornmeal, flour, salt, etc). Everything else was just the same. However, the dish turned out bland. I love broccoli and onion and thought it would be great, but it was just pretty tasteless. My Dad and brother liked it well enough, but my Dad has a sinus infection and can't taste much of anything right now, hehe. My Mom agreed with me that it was pretty bland. I won't try making it again. For anyone who does, I suggest taking the recommendations of a few of the other reviewers and adding some cheddar cheese or something sprinkled on it. I think that would've made it a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I made this exactly by the recipe and my family thought it was yummy. If you are looking for traditional cornbread, you may want to try another recipe as this is more like a broccoli casserole because of the soft inside texture. It would make an excellent and different side dish for a pot-luck. I used jalapeno cornbread mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
While baking this cornbread smells delicious, like broccoli casserole. But don't let that fool you, the taste was so bland I could not finish one piece. My husband and I agreed that there was something missing, but I am not sure what. Also, the 4 eggs made it seem very soufflé like, unlike most cornbreads I enjoy. I will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States