Broccoli Cheese Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
i made it into 18regular size muffins.made own cornmeal mix as advised by anooshka.the baking time was 30 min even for the muffins.While I was putting the batter in tin I thought it'll turn out fine coz nobody had any problems with it. But the first batch baked very dry.No I did not over bake &yes I did measure ingredients accurately. For the second batch (only6muffins batter was left) I added 3cups of 1/4cup milk to get the right consistency.it was just an experiment from my baking knowledge. To my amazement they turned out so very perfect.But I still don't understand why did anybody else had the problem.I would love to make them again but will definitely have to add some milk to get the right consistency of the batter.i also used fresh broccoli&2ts salt.Everything was perfect except the dryness of the batter.I think the submitter might want to go through the recipe again. Other than that. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gsooo1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I really liked the flavor of this cornbread, but I think next time I'll use fresh broccoli instead of frozen. It made it a little too tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
My family LOVED this. The only changes I made was I added a package of real bacon peices because my family loves bacon and omitted the salt because bacon peices are salty. I cut this into squares and we ate it for breakfast for a couple of days. (It reheats well!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
very dry. was worth a second try though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This was a great recipe! I followed one reviewer's suggestion of making your own self-rising cornmeal (1 cup flour (I used half whole wheat), 1 cup cornmeal, 1 T baking powder, 1 t salt). Measured on my kitchen scale, this only made 1/2 cup too much... I guess you could easily just cut the flour and cornmeal by 1/4 cup each :) I did use the butter, but used it to saute the onions until they were tender to give them a sweeter flavour. I also sauteed my broccoli for a few minutes to tenderize it because I used fresh broccoli. My husband I loved them! My picky toddler dipped a few bites in ketchup lol... at least some got in I guess :) I should mention... I was feeling lazy so I made 16 muffins lined with paper cups instead of using a pan. I baked them at 400degF for only 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I used Jiffy cornbread mix instead of cornmeal and omitted the butter. I added in low-fat organic cottage cheese, chopped onion, broccoli and shredded cheddar cheese. Cooked as directed and it came out delicious! This will be a staple in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This turned out to be a flop! Maybe I did something wrong? It sounded really good. Bummer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was my first time making Broccoli Cheese Cornbread. Although I used a 13X9 pan, it turned out great with less cooking time -it took about 20 min. Thanks, I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This is sooooo good! I made it for thanksgiving and Christmas. I did add some smoked paprika and it really gave it depth and flavor. It is now a family fave!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mleiland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexander City, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Very very yummy! I ran out of cottage cheese so substituted with ricotta cheese. It came out a bit sweeter but delicious. I also added shredded cheddar cheese. Perfect for thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States