Broccoli Cheese Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
While baking this cornbread smells delicious, like broccoli casserole. But don't let that fool you, the taste was so bland I could not finish one piece. My husband and I agreed that there was something missing, but I am not sure what. Also, the 4 eggs made it seem very soufflé like, unlike most cornbreads I enjoy. I will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
I was the only one who enjoyed this cornbread, the rest of the family didn't care for it. I thought it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
My mother's recipe is nearly identical, except she adds 1 can of mexicorn (and uses Jiffy corn muffin mix). This is one of my faves and always gets raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
My sister gave this recipe to me on a larger scale. Her family love it. She uses a package of Jiffy Corn Bread Mix. She tells me that it should not be firm like corn bread, but more like a dressing that you eat as a side. Please try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
Very tasty, quick and simple. I've gotten lots of compliments on this one too. Even better with fresh broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
I didn't follow the directions exactly or maybe it would have been better. I substituted green onions for the onion, added some cheddar cheese and probably changed something else too. Mostly I was disappointed because it reminded me more of a quiche than of cornbread. I wonder if I would have liked it better if I put in less eggs than it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
This was a tasty cornbread. I added some shredded cheese with mine and sprinkled a little extra on top. I did have to bake my cornbread much longer, but it was because of the pan I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
This was excellant!!! I made it when my parents and brother came over for dinner, they love it so much there were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
This is yummy! Had I not made so many funny substitutions, I'm sure I would've ended up with a perfect cornbread! As it was, I can still see its potential. ;o) I have never heard of self-rising cornmeal mix, so I was thankful to read instructions on how to make it in one of the previous reviews! (1 c. cornmeal, 1 c. flour, 1 T. baking powder, 1 t. salt). Silly me forgot to measure 8.5 oz of this mix - I ended up with quite dry bread! Also, I was out of margarine, so I substituted 2 T. of oil for the margarine, since I was afraid to overdo it!.... likely the margarine would've worked better. I used a 9" cake pan, and it didn't cook in the center very well - it was too thick, I guess! Who knew there was such a size as 11x7 for a pan?! Oh well! Thanks for a good recipe, I will definitely try this one again soon with all the right ingredients and pans! :oD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
This was yummy. Here are the changes I made: used about 2 tbsp of margarine instead of 1/2 cup of butter (because I cannot bring myself to do that to my family) and sprayed the glass baking dish with PAM; made my own cornmeal mix (1cup each of cornmeal and flour and 1 tbsp baking powder with 1 tsp salt makes about 300 g, so I mixed this up and used only about 240g which equals 8.5 oz as the recipe had asked for); and finally I substituted egg substitue for the four eggs to make it lighter. It was done in about 20-25 minutes (on account of the glass dish I think...took less than the predicted 30 minutes). It is really nice. YOu have to like onions though because the flavour is very dominant....might try green onions next time. Also if you like something like bacon or ham pieces would probably go really well. Thank you very much for the recipe...Really easy and with my modifications ( I think) healthy enough for me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States