Broccoli Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
After a few modifications to this recipe it was excellent. I am giving it a four only because I changed some things. I left out the water chestnuts and the almonds. I used shredded cheddar cheese and cream of chicken soup. Great alternative if you hate mushrooms. In place of the almonds on top I took 18 round crackers, crumbled them and add them too hot melted butter in a fry pan to soften them up. Add those to the top of your casserole and it adds a nice buttery flavor and they crisp back up in the oven. (Great way to get rid of that half stale package of crackers thats sitting in your pantry!)This recipe defaults at 8 servings. I only made a 4 serving dish so be sure to double the crackers if you try this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2001
I tried this last night for my boyfriend and I and we loved it. I did use 1 cream of mushroom and 1 cream of chicken soup and it came out just fine. I think next time I might add more broccoli because I love it. I also didn't add the water chestnuts because I didn't have any on hand, but it was just great the way it was. Thanks! I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This has always been a big hit when I cook it. I try many different kinds of cheese and I always use fresh brocoli. I also have topped with ground walnuts, makes a great change to it as well. Mozzarella cheese works very well and cheddar is another one I mix in sometimes for a sharp taste. I once added sweet corn, it was good, but I think simplicity is better. Does not make a good leftover the next day in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I made it pretty much as written, though I chose 1 can cream of brocolli and 1 can cream of asparagus just because I dislike mushrooms. The processed cheese sauce I chose was Tostitos salsa con queso which gave the whole thing a spicy kick. It is so tasty I cant wait for the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
this was a great, i loved that i can used left over rice... i also did not have plain frozen broccoli on hand so i used a a 10 oz frozen broccoli and cheese microwave pack i had on hand and just cooked it with the mushroom/cheese mix... i will add some milk next time for a little added creaminess... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was awesome! I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. I followed the recipe exactly except that I omitted the water chestnuts and replaced the almonds with crushed cashews. Those cashews were awesome. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
Really good and VERY EASY. I left out the water chestnuts and almonds, however, as I do not care for the "crunch".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This was very good. I did not give this five stars because it needed a touch more seasoning. I served it for Thanksgiving as an meatless entree. I would definitely make againg,but with some more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
I made it for a party at a friend's house and people came back the next day for leftovers. Next time I make it I plan to only use 1 1/2 cans of soup though, it makes it a little salty otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Yummo! I always leave out the slivered almonds. My husband requests this yearly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States