Broccoli Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
I modified the recipe a bit by adding more rice. I also excluded the onions since no one in our family likes onion. The recipe wasn't all that good. It was VERY cheesy, too cheesy for my taste. If I make it again I'll increase the rice even more and use Chream of Mushroom instead of the Cream of Chicken. I am a big fan of Broccoli Cheese Casserole but this recipe didn't come even close to be one of the best. Sorry. Not a keeper. I doubled the recipe because we were supposed to have company for dinner and it took almost an hour and a half to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
I love this recipe!! I have made probably 15-20 times, I usually use fresh broccoli that I steam for about 5-10 min. (just a personal preference), and increase the rice to 1c. (which I cook in Chicken Stock instead of water, again personal preference) I prefer Cheze wiz over velvetta for this recipe, but have also used tostidos cheese sauce in a pinch, (it gives it a little zippier flavor) We love this as a side dish with chicken or pork chops, definately a keeper and in regular rotation in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlevoix, Michigan, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
I love this recipe, this is one of my favs! I always get good remarks on this. I also like to point out I use 1 jar of cheese whiz and not velveta and it taste alot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
I took the advice from several reviewers by adding more rice to make it less soupy. The dish wasn't soupy....but lacked flavor. Wasn't a favorite, doubt I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
My 7 year old son loved this and wants it all the time. I did add more rice then requested (2 cups) which made it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Very good! Especially if you need some cheese, etc. to get someone to eat their vegetables. I used the whole 10 oz package of broccoli, but scaled down the rest of ingredients to make 4 servings instead of 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Could barely give this one star. The flavor was dominated by bacon and was beyond soupy. Served it to 8 people and they all agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
This is absolutely the best ever!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
Awesome. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
Was very good. My children loved it. Served this with burgandy pork ( a recipe also on this site). This will definately be a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States