Broccoli Cheese Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
I like the fact that this recipe does not call for the standard can of cream soup found on the grocery store shelf as we are trying to eat less processed foods in our household. However, I found that I needed to add some additional spices in order to give it a bit more flavor. I started off using a little garlic powder, then added some onion powder and just a small pinch of cayenne pepper. If you use the pre-cut broccoli pieces from the store, you should cut them up into smaller pieces. Also, we are not fans of swiss cheese so I ended up using cheddar instead. Overall, a tasty recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Oakley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I love that there was no canned soups or processed cheese in this recipe! I did have to make changes since I didn't have Swiss cheese and I can't eat onions. I left out the onion and used cheddar rather than Swiss cheese since that is what I had but I would love to try it with Swiss sometime. I also added a dash of hot sauce and a squirt of Dijon mustard (since I add those into broccoli cheese soup and they go great with the cheddar cheese) and topped it off with buttered bread crumbs before baking. I forgot to add the eggs but it still turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This is a really good, the only reason I am giving it four stars is because I think it calls for a bit too much butter. Next time I make this I will cut down on the butter and take out the eggs so I can use it as a sauce over some potatoes. Thanks for sharing this, I love that it doesn't call for canned soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
This was pretty good overall! My roommate really liked it; I found it a little rich, but pretty satisfying. Ours came out a bit liquid-y, but I wouldn't be surprised if that was because I threw in mushrooms. (They needed using up, man.) I think this could be really good with noodles, too; I might try it that way in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Great way to get the kids (and the husband)to eat their broccoli! Easy and tasty. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Really good! Would work well with other summer vegetables as well! Cut in half and used sharp cheddar. I think when using cheddar, you could cut back on the cheese some, makes it really rich! Will be using this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
It was very bland. Needed more sauce & cheese in the sauce. The butter was also overwhelmingly greasy, would opt for less for a healthier meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This is a good recipe and I'm sure many will like it as written. For us, I will need to back it down to one egg next time. The "cottage cheese" texture that the eggs and cheese make isn't really for us. I ran out of swiss and had to add cheddar to make up the difference. Thanks for sharing, we did enjoy trying a new recipe for broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Yummm! Made this for a group gathering and it was the hit of the night. Used less milk, crumbled crackers on top during last 10 minutes of baking and subbed sharp cheddar for swiss. The next time, I added cooked chicken and turned it into a casserole. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
absolutely delicious just as written. I didnt care for it as a leftover though, didnt taste the same so eat it when its first made for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tinley Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crete, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States