Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I did some research... After cutting the dressing in half- which is sufficent- and changing the mayo to fat-free mayo and the sugar to splenda and 1 oz. of cheese- it changed the calorie intake to about 80 calories instead of 400+. And it tastes just as good. My 2 cents. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
428 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESCLAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
Took this to our golf fundraiser and it was gobbled up! Like others, I added a little red pepper and sunflower seeds and green onions. Eyeballed the veggies (there was a lot!), but kept the dressing the same. It was plenty. I only got a taste of it, but really really liked what I had. Plus, it was a very pretty presentation in a glass salad dish. Kind of like a 7 Layer Salad. Oh, and I also put the dressing on over the cheese, then added the bacon and seeds afterwards to keep them crisper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DART1121

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turin, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
We always love this salad and I've made it many times. Each time I get rave reviews. I don't use the egg but I always add chopped red onion. I've also made it with raisins and sunflower seeds added. Every variation is delicious, just play around with the ingredients you like. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I was excited to make this last night as it sounded like something we would love, but I was sort of disappointed. I thought it was way too dressing-heavy, and that the dressing was too sweet. If I made it again, I would up the bacon, add less sugar to the dressing, and serve the dressing on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2001
Awesome! I used a med to lg size cauliflower, equal amount of broccoli, used 15 eggs, 2 c. of cheese, 12 oz bacon, 3/4 c. white sugar, 3 T. white wine vinegar and almost 2 c. of mayo. Drizzling the dressing didn't work for me, it just sat on the top, therefore, I stirred it all together. It fit perfectly into a 4.5 qt portable. Next time, I will reserve some of the cheese and bacon to sprinkle on the top after the dressing has been stirred in. I can see this recipe becoming one of my families favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
I made this recipe for Easter and it was a big hit. I thought both the taste and texture were great. I followed the directions exactly, but only poured about 3/4 of the dressing on top of the salad. I put the remaining dressing in a bowl next to the salad so people could add more if they wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATDP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
great version of this salad. no wonder it has a 5-star rating. I added finely chopped green peppers and green olives to counter sweet dressing. next time I think I will reduce mayo/sugar by 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Fantastic salad. With each bite a different part of the salad comes through. Great combination of textures and flavours. This was also very easy to make and only took about 20 minutes (or maybe less). I also added the sunflower seeds and would highly recomend doing so. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
This salad got rave reviews! I recently hosted a salad bar buffet and the ladies loved this one. I doubled the bacon and added red onion. Yummy. Most went home with the recipe printed out from allrecipes.com! Thanks, Colleen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Really good! I used turkey bacon but doubled the amount, since I had a little more broccoli and cauliflower than called for. Dressing is just right for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barb's Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

A classic salad with bacon bits, sunflower seeds, and a sweet and sour dressing.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States