Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2005
I did some research... After cutting the dressing in half- which is sufficent- and changing the mayo to fat-free mayo and the sugar to splenda and 1 oz. of cheese- it changed the calorie intake to about 80 calories instead of 400+. And it tastes just as good. My 2 cents. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
426 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JONESCLAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caldwell, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
Took this to our golf fundraiser and it was gobbled up! Like others, I added a little red pepper and sunflower seeds and green onions. Eyeballed the veggies (there was a lot!), but kept the dressing the same. It was plenty. I only got a taste of it, but really really liked what I had. Plus, it was a very pretty presentation in a glass salad dish. Kind of like a 7 Layer Salad. Oh, and I also put the dressing on over the cheese, then added the bacon and seeds afterwards to keep them crisper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DART1121

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turin, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
We always love this salad and I've made it many times. Each time I get rave reviews. I don't use the egg but I always add chopped red onion. I've also made it with raisins and sunflower seeds added. Every variation is delicious, just play around with the ingredients you like. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
I was excited to make this last night as it sounded like something we would love, but I was sort of disappointed. I thought it was way too dressing-heavy, and that the dressing was too sweet. If I made it again, I would up the bacon, add less sugar to the dressing, and serve the dressing on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2001
Awesome! I used a med to lg size cauliflower, equal amount of broccoli, used 15 eggs, 2 c. of cheese, 12 oz bacon, 3/4 c. white sugar, 3 T. white wine vinegar and almost 2 c. of mayo. Drizzling the dressing didn't work for me, it just sat on the top, therefore, I stirred it all together. It fit perfectly into a 4.5 qt portable. Next time, I will reserve some of the cheese and bacon to sprinkle on the top after the dressing has been stirred in. I can see this recipe becoming one of my families favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
I made this recipe for Easter and it was a big hit. I thought both the taste and texture were great. I followed the directions exactly, but only poured about 3/4 of the dressing on top of the salad. I put the remaining dressing in a bowl next to the salad so people could add more if they wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATDP

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2003
great version of this salad. no wonder it has a 5-star rating. I added finely chopped green peppers and green olives to counter sweet dressing. next time I think I will reduce mayo/sugar by 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Fantastic salad. With each bite a different part of the salad comes through. Great combination of textures and flavours. This was also very easy to make and only took about 20 minutes (or maybe less). I also added the sunflower seeds and would highly recomend doing so. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
This salad got rave reviews! I recently hosted a salad bar buffet and the ladies loved this one. I doubled the bacon and added red onion. Yummy. Most went home with the recipe printed out from allrecipes.com! Thanks, Colleen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Really good! I used turkey bacon but doubled the amount, since I had a little more broccoli and cauliflower than called for. Dressing is just right for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXHUNTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barb's Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

A classic salad with bacon bits, sunflower seeds, and a sweet and sour dressing.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States