Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by MrsSpice
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I love this salad. The first time I made this, I made as written and it was way too mayo-y too sweet and I really didn't care for the eggs. The second time, I omitted the eggs, added a little bit of red onion, I used a whole large head of broccoli, a large head of cauliflower (it was probably more like 4 cups each) 2 cups of mayo, sugar to taste, a pack of bacon, a 8oz bag of shredded cheddar and a splash of balsamic vinegar in addition to the white wine vinegar. Instead of layering, I mixed it all together. This will be staple at my house. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Everyone loves this salad. I used brown sugar instead of white and came out great. This is one salad that I will eat the next day if there are leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Nice idea, pretty presentation. Too heavy with the dressing, and waaay too sweet. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I really like the concept of this recipie, but I felt it was a little too heavy feeling after following the directions, leaving out the optional eggs. I've made it since, and altered it to make it lighter, using 1/2 fat free sour cream and 1/2 cup light mayo, ando 1/3 cup splenda. Much better, though my husband still doesn't like it, it's a favorite of mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I think this is my husband favorite dish that I have ever made!! I use 1/3 of a cup of mayo and 1 1/2 Tbs. sugar and the same amount of vinegar. I also add half of whatever color of bell pepper I have on hand, 3 chopped green onoins and a cup of peas. oh yeah, lots of fresh ground pepper too. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I didn't change anything about this recipe and everyone at our church potluck loved it. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I tried these for Easter and my family all raved about it. I have made it several times since and there are never any leftovers!!Easy and very flavorful. I use nothing but Hellmans Mayo and hickory smoked bacon. I did add a layer of sweet onions this last time. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brighton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Very good, but definitely needs to dressing scaled back by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Higashikurume, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
Very Yummy! I served the dressing on side and added 8oz of veggie bacon. My son and parents loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I never have any leftovers of this salad! I only vary the ingredients a little - I don't add the eggs, but I do add raisins and roasted/salted sunflower seeds to give it a little more crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Barb's Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

A classic salad with bacon bits, sunflower seeds, and a sweet and sour dressing.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States