Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I made this only slightly different to recipe due to other people's recommendations. I used whole cauliflower head, 3 brocolli bunches-cut both into bite size pieces. Made for two functions so I halved each evenly and placed into 2 separate bowls. I omited egg. I used pre-cooked bacon (to save on time), using 6 slices for each bowl of broc/caul blend. Also added 1 cup shredded cheddar to each bowl, and 1/4 cup red onion to each bowl. (i placed cheese, bacon, and mayo blend in just before serving). Mayo blend--I used 1 cup mayo, 1 tbsp white vinegar, and 1 teaspoon lemon juice (didn't have white wine vinegar). I then divided the amount equally and added each half into each bowl. Just enough to coat and give flavor, but not enough to make it too mayonaisy, if that makes sense. 1st group left no leftovers and mentioned they didn't think they'd like but did. Other group not as many tried but those that did, liked it. I really liked it and that's why I'm giving 5 stars. Thanks for the recipe. I was looking for something different and will be making this in future when I have two functions to attend. One prep time, two functions--couldn't be any better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
My hubby, who is not a fan of broccoli or cauliflower, loved this salad. The only changes I made was to use Splenda instead of sugar, and real bacon bits instead of bacon...just to save some time and mess. Very yummy, a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Almonte, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I have always liked Broccoli-Cauliflower salad when I attended fellowship meals and such, but I never took the time to find a recipe. A few weeks ago I decided to look and I found this one. It is delicious. My family loves it and it is so easy to make. I substituted lemon juice for the vinegar because I had no way of getting any white wine vinegar in our small rural town. I also prefer to mix everything together instead of layering it. And this second time around I doubled the veges, cheese and bacon but left the amounts of dressing ingredients the same. The recipe was much better with less dressing (and I had wasted some last time). I also leave out the optional eggs. Mainly because I have never ever had a broccoli-cauliflower salad with eggs and it didn't sound appetizing. I still give this 5 stars though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This is one of my all-time FAVORITE foods! It is sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meadow Brady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aforementionedthoughts
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Delicious and so easy to make! Everyone really liked the dressing on it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aforementionedthoughts

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Nice refreshing salad. I used a generous cup of broccoli and Cauliflower, cut the dressing in half, using only a scant 1/4 C sugar and added 1/4 C sunflower seeds. 4 eggs as about 2 cups, and I mixed the dressing with the veggies before putting the rest on top of the cheese. Ended up adding some raisins after tasting. Could easily have used some more B&C with this amount of dressing. Family liked it, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Yum... looked pretty and taste terrific even though I had subbed peas for the broccoli because it's what I had on hand; I also added a dash of worcershire sauce to the mayo and a few T of parmesan cheese then spread it over the cauliflower layer before the cheese and bacon for presentaton and since only the vegetables needed dressing.. Thanks for this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Double the veggies, don't use the egg, bacon bits work great, use ultra fine sugar if making last minute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Nice recipe. I used 2 heads of cauliflower and 2 bunches of broccoli, instead of cooking bacon, I used a package of REAL bacon bits, and topped with sunflower seeds. I also added some chopped green onions. Put all of this in a 13x9 baking dish. The only complaint I recieved was that there was not enough dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Love this recipe. The flavors are amazing. Great for party or potluck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barb's Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

A classic salad with bacon bits, sunflower seeds, and a sweet and sour dressing.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States