Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I've tried this, only I added green onions, sometimes grapes and other times raisins and cashews. I make the dressing a little different, but it's delicious either way. I use one cup of mayo, a half can of sweetened condensed milk, 1/4 c sugar and 1/8 of a cup of vinegar. This dressing recipe is actually cut in half, so you could double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
One of the things I love about this site is the reviews by home cooks. I took their advice and cut the amount of dressing by half and lessened the sweetness considerably, using a stevia-erythritol substitute. So glad I did. I decided not to measure the eggs, just adding two to the overall mix. Such an easy, delicious salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I did use only half the dressing and it was great. Would like to add red bell pepper, red onion, and sunflower seeds next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
My mother used to make this when I was a kid and we loved it. I could not remember the recipe, so I found this, it is pretty close. Although after making this version, it is too sweet and has too much dressing. I did 1 1/2 cups of each broccoli and cauliflower 1 cup fat free mayo, 2 tbls water, 2 hard boiled eggs 1/2 cup shredded cheese, 1/4 cup sugar, 6 slices chopped bacon, and to add a little kick I also finely chop 1/4 cup red onion. I just mix everything together. The red onion just adds something special! My 7 yr old twins HATE onion but LOVED this, in fact it turns out they wanted seconds and begged me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Unfortunately, I didn't have bacon, so I went out on a limb and subbed pepperoni. Still very delicious. (Used only 2 tbs of sugar.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This was very good. I did decrease the sugar by a lot, a 1/2 cup seemed like too much for 1 cup of mayo. I only used 2 T of sugar and it was more than enough. I also used about 3 cups each of the broccoli/cauliflower. I also kept the dressing on the side and drizzled it over each salad before serving. I also added sunflower seeds (as others stated in their reviews) and it was so good. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I cooked this over the Christmas holiday and it was gone in a flash. The husband, in-laws, and all the kids loved it! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgirlcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Loved this!! Hubby wanted onions, so did add diced red onions. But it would be wonderful without them also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I had something like this but not with large pieces and layered. I chopped the broccoli and cauliflower into pieces the size of a pea. I added finely shredded carrot (1 medium), white raisins and sunflower seeds. I skipped the bacon and egg to make if vegetarian. It made about 2 quarts. It is also better the second day after the mixture has marinated. This also adds crunch and makes a great replacement for coleslaw on sandwiches with ham or turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Sorry to say but this recipe didn't cut it with me despite all the rave reviews. I was surprised to find that the recipe didn't require the broccoli or cauliflower to be cooked at least a little bit, I mean seriously who eats these vegetables raw? Anyway I ended up steaming in some water for a few minutes until they were slightly cooked though still retaining the crunch thus making it edible. Now for the sauce... it was bad sorry! After reading the reviews, we halved the amount and used low fat Mayo BUT it was still SO SUPER SWEET and ended up STILL BEING WAY TO MUCH!!! I ended up adding some wholegrain honey mustard and it was much better. We let each person help themselves to the sauce and at the end there is still heaps left over. The taste of this combination overall was a bit strange as well - my tastebuds were looking for potatoes as this would've been good with some potatos yet there weren't any... Sorry but won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbopumpkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Barb's Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

A classic salad with bacon bits, sunflower seeds, and a sweet and sour dressing.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States