Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
My mother used to make this when I was a kid and we loved it. I could not remember the recipe, so I found this, it is pretty close. Although after making this version, it is too sweet and has too much dressing. I did 1 1/2 cups of each broccoli and cauliflower 1 cup fat free mayo, 2 tbls water, 2 hard boiled eggs 1/2 cup shredded cheese, 1/4 cup sugar, 6 slices chopped bacon, and to add a little kick I also finely chop 1/4 cup red onion. I just mix everything together. The red onion just adds something special! My 7 yr old twins HATE onion but LOVED this, in fact it turns out they wanted seconds and begged me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Unfortunately, I didn't have bacon, so I went out on a limb and subbed pepperoni. Still very delicious. (Used only 2 tbs of sugar.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This was very good. I did decrease the sugar by a lot, a 1/2 cup seemed like too much for 1 cup of mayo. I only used 2 T of sugar and it was more than enough. I also used about 3 cups each of the broccoli/cauliflower. I also kept the dressing on the side and drizzled it over each salad before serving. I also added sunflower seeds (as others stated in their reviews) and it was so good. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I cooked this over the Christmas holiday and it was gone in a flash. The husband, in-laws, and all the kids loved it! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thisgirlcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Loved this!! Hubby wanted onions, so did add diced red onions. But it would be wonderful without them also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I had something like this but not with large pieces and layered. I chopped the broccoli and cauliflower into pieces the size of a pea. I added finely shredded carrot (1 medium), white raisins and sunflower seeds. I skipped the bacon and egg to make if vegetarian. It made about 2 quarts. It is also better the second day after the mixture has marinated. This also adds crunch and makes a great replacement for coleslaw on sandwiches with ham or turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Sorry to say but this recipe didn't cut it with me despite all the rave reviews. I was surprised to find that the recipe didn't require the broccoli or cauliflower to be cooked at least a little bit, I mean seriously who eats these vegetables raw? Anyway I ended up steaming in some water for a few minutes until they were slightly cooked though still retaining the crunch thus making it edible. Now for the sauce... it was bad sorry! After reading the reviews, we halved the amount and used low fat Mayo BUT it was still SO SUPER SWEET and ended up STILL BEING WAY TO MUCH!!! I ended up adding some wholegrain honey mustard and it was much better. We let each person help themselves to the sauce and at the end there is still heaps left over. The taste of this combination overall was a bit strange as well - my tastebuds were looking for potatoes as this would've been good with some potatos yet there weren't any... Sorry but won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbopumpkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This is super YUMMY!! My kids also give it 2 thumbs up. Its quick and easy and it taste even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Mmmm - crunchy and full of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by haldir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
YUM! The taste deserves 5 stars, but I think the need for tweaking requires a star drop. I followed reviewer advice and cut mayo and sugar in half (though kept vinegar as written), which made it perfect. I also omitted eggs and added raisins and green onions. We gobbled it up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barb's Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

A classic salad with bacon bits, sunflower seeds, and a sweet and sour dressing.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States